Lapping a TRUE - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2008, 04:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I believe only the extreme edition CPU's are covered under warranty if they're OC'd.
so that is what the extra 700 bucks buys.. ahh I see
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 05:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
FYI, if you have overclocked, you already voided the warranty
true, but can they actually tell if it's been OC'd? That being said, I think it's time to go for it....:freak:
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 06:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Youtube has video's on it. Specifically for the TRUE


edit:
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 09:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

start with some 220 or 320 wetsand, and then go 400-600-800-1000
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 08:18 AM   #15 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
Youtube has video's on it. Specifically for the TRUE


edit:
Good video. I never thought of holding it like that, I always held it from the top.. that'll distribute the weight much better..

I decided I'll show you guys how bad the temps are... this is on load with Prime95 - take note of the horrendous VID and stepping, I don't think the load temps are *that* bad, it's just a matter of how uneven they are...

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 09:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

They can tell if it has been overclocked or to many volts have been pushed into it. Seriously, it does leave burn lines and such in it, and it can and will show abnormal wear in some places.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 10:55 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

lol Thats not so bad ish. my B3 prime temps were 58-68c with stock intel. chop off 15c for transition to true and we're about the same. Thats a nice size gap. mine's 6 degrees ._. I don't feel like lapping my cpu though >.>
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 10:59 AM   #18 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

I'll see if I can get it lapped tonight, I'll start with really low grits first to really get that convex shape out, like mgcook suggested, I think I have 250 somewhere in my garage and I'll pick up another set of 400s or maybe even 600s if I can find em
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 11:50 AM   #19 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
FYI, if you have overclocked, you already voided the warranty
how would they find out if you overclocked it?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 01:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Lapping a TRUE

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
how would they find out if you overclocked it?
I've wondered that myself...
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S-FLEX vs Slip-Stream vs ?? (for TRUE) Durftard Overclocking and Modding 3 12-28-2007 02:30 AM
Tuniq or True, which ones better? Chrysamere Overclocking and Modding 44 12-24-2007 06:34 PM
true quad core processing robina_80 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 12-04-2007 09:02 PM
Lapping Procs, yes or no? Alexinator Overclocking and Modding 9 08-30-2007 10:22 PM
Cant load XP on vista laptop??? Is this true? jdmhotness Laptops and Notebooks 5 08-07-2007 04:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.