Lapped my PII 940 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2009, 11:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Lapped my PII 940

Core temp is a program. Core temperature is the same as CPU temperature.

But the program Core Temp measures it far more accurately than the BIOS.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 11:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Lapped my PII 940

My temps are pretty much the same.. Idle is just like 2* cooler.. Maybe 2* cooler load.. Still running 47* during prime @ 3.6g. I need a 320 Rad and Yate Looon max fans to replace my Cheap-o fans I've got on my Rad now..
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 12:12 AM   #13 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Lapped my PII 940

Sucks to hear it didn't help much. Why would you need a whole new setup though? (referring to your post on the last page).
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 12:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Lapped my PII 940

^ I'm a hardware junkie.. ...... That should say it all.. I may wait til the new PII 965 is out before I go out and get a PII 955.. I still have my MB picked out tho..

I'm redoing almost everything.. New board, CPU, Adding a 4870 for a CF setup, new case, and swapping RAD's for a 320.. or a 420.. not sure yet.. I dunno if I can fit a 420 in the 800D case. I may do a dual loop cooling sys, but I'd need a couple more things to run liquid to on the CPU side of the loop.. One for the CPU/NB/MOS, and the other loop for the Dual 4870's. Not sure yet, tho.. Like I said.


And on a side note ^ I take it you ride? YZ? What size? 250? I took my '06 YFZ450 out today and it turned out to be too blazing hot out.. Called it quits after an hour and a half..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 12:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Lapped my PII 940

Don't really think the 965 is worth it...uses a crap ton more power for not that much of an improvement over the 955.

Man, I wish I could afford just upgrading my rig, instead of replacing it, lol.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 01:11 AM   #16 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Lapped my PII 940

^ oh, I can't really afford it, but I'll find a way to.. It's either this or my computer budget is going to go to my car for new parts to get traction at the track.. The car does need new tires, desperately.. and the truck needs a battery and maybe a starter... Hmmm... ... Darn it all..

Well, I've been thinking of just leaving it and swapping cases, Rad and Rez.. I've really grown to hate that case..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 01:18 AM   #17 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Lapped my PII 940

Hehe, I should have known that one. I have an 06 yz85. I went riding on Saturday, was about 65-70*F and overcast, perfect temperature for riding. Was a lot of fun.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 01:25 AM   #18 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Lapped my PII 940

^Phiew... Must be nice.. It's been 100+ here lately.. Thermo said 90* when I left the house but felt like 110* out at the doons. That was brutal.. the air is like a darn blow drier..

Anyway..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 01:52 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Lapped my PII 940

Well the biggest reason to get a 965 would be because it's the top binned product (aside from TWKR chips, which I think there are only 100 of)
Also, if you overclock any CPU, power consumption will go up.

There's only one TWKR that you can buy, and you'll have to bid more than $11,600 for it:
AMD Phenom II TWKR Black Edition Processor - eBay (item 260446020412 end time Jul-20-09 10:14:35 PDT)

auction ends in a little over 11 hours
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 02:08 AM   #20 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Lapped my PII 940

^ Well, this PII 940 uses enough darn juice when clocked anyway, that was one of my reasons for considering the i7.. But after doing some research, there's no real reason, other than benchmarks, to switch from a 955 to an i7.. The 955 (or was it the 940??) is actually a better gamer. .... based on what I've read.
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS or Trade AMD 940 Phenom II B.E. + extras colin Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 05-22-2009 08:51 AM
i7 vs PII Deneb 940 Antec-User Overclocking and Modding 13 04-05-2009 11:43 PM
Need CPUID Flash 64b compatible for GB MA790GP-DS4H w PII 940 Antec-User Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-06-2009 11:51 AM
AMD PII 940 + Liquid Helium CntdwnToExtn New Technology and Products 52 01-29-2009 11:25 AM
*** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread *** gurusan New Technology and Products 40 01-13-2009 03:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.