Lap me gently... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2010, 09:51 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Lap me gently...

Get a 980X and see how keen you are to void that warranty
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-15-2010, 09:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Lap me gently...

^i honestly think he would have the balls to do it. Because getting a chip like that is for a serious computer person, or a person that has money to spend. Slay, is both lol. So i think he would have no problem lapping it, because he knows how to do it and has had practice.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 08:22 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Lap me gently...

If I bought a 980X lapping would be the very 1st thing I did to it
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 10:43 AM   #24 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Lap me gently...

Slay, you are one crazy dude .

I lapped mine, I might eventually redo it though. I think it's still a tiny bit uneven.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 10:45 AM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Lap me gently...

I've had quite a bit of practice now too, and while I wouldn't be worried about ruining the cpu by lapping it I'd be worried about not being able to get a refund when I push the voltage just that leetle bit too much
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:02 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Lap me gently...

I haven't burnt out a cpu in years, I'd expect the mobo to die from the voltage before the cpu.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:08 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Lap me gently...

Haven't burned one out completely in ages either, but I've sure made it so it wouldn't run above stock lol don't really want to take that chance with this one
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 06:21 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Lap me gently...

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Haven't burned one out completely in ages either, but I've sure made it so it wouldn't run above stock lol don't really want to take that chance with this one
Chicken, you'll never be man enough to ride a Croc with that attitude
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 08:53 PM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Lap me gently...

yep I'll admit it. I'm chicken. For all the money I spend on my rig I don't exactly have 1.5k to just throw down the drain tho Once I get my WC setup I'll start bumping the voltage over 1.4v and see where I can really get this thing.
I've heard lapping is great for WC, because it means a thinner layer of metal between the water and the heat. So I guess we'll see if I can work up the guts to get the sandpaper out
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 09:38 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Lap me gently...

^Lapping the cpu ya....im not sure because im no expert i the area, but are water blocks flat? IM pretty sure they are so no need to lap them (you prolly already know this, im just thinking out...text*)
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lap top connection barbp Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 10 01-07-2010 08:19 AM
Ľ Networking an ex- hd,printer & lap top wirelessly? minat Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 08-11-2009 08:53 AM
OS lap top OPTIONS justo5873 Laptops and Notebooks 23 11-25-2008 08:58 PM
To lap or not to lap that is the question grkbar Overclocking and Modding 6 10-03-2008 11:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.