Lagging - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2004, 12:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default Lagging

Ok, on my AMD 64 3500+, Asus A8V, Radeon 9800 Pro 256, my computer starts lagging after 2 hours of game play. The cpu temp is relatively low! I let my little brother play warcraft III for 2 hours and it started to lag! Than he played Knights of the Old Republic for 30 minutes and it starts to lag. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

Are you playing from the cdrom and if so, how fast is your cd rom? also make sure that you don't have any unneeded programs and processes running the background. That might only do a little but it will help.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 01:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

cdrom speed =40x, I closed out all of the unneeded programs
__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 04:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

what video card do you have?
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 04:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gl\l0m!$h
what video card do you have?
Did you not read the original post? He said he had a Radeon 9800 Pro.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 08:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 20
Default

His post says Radeon 9800 pro but his signature says Radeon 9800 XT
Havoc222 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 07:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

nope I took the 9800XT out, and put the old 9800 pro 256 back in because I want to use the 9800XT on a different project.
__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 11:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Default

do you have heatsinks on your 9800pro?
__________________

__________________
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.