Kingston or Corsair ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2005, 01:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 28
Default Kingston or Corsair ram?

out of kingston or corsair ram which one is better? (also please do say if there's any other better than these 2)
__________________

revz is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 01:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

they both suck IMO

but corsair is better than kingston
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 02:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Psht diablo, the dude asked for some better RAM and I know you know which ones to list, so do it!

TwinMOS 1gb for $100 at newegg, they are good, will OC high if you put enough voltage into them, if you don't care about OC'ing then they are good RAM, cheap, and will perform nice
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 03:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

ooh, yea, i jus skimmed through it

twinMOS is teh ownage
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 05:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

both better than generic!
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

word that, still getting random restarts every now and then >.<
I'll just have to scrape some money up to get some corsair value, or something.
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i usually dont get random restarts, but im only at stock speeds
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 07:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Corsair doesnt suck neither does kingston havent used kingston before but im currently using corsair and it runs quite fast the only problem i had was when i first put it in my computer my comp kept on restarting for no reason..not consecutively...like 10 minutes.. restart then like 5 minutes than like 3 minutes and so on...after every restart the time till next restart decreased which became as a hassal the ram turned out to be faulty and i got replaced with new ones a few days later
__________________
My Comp...
Thermaltake Tsunami Dream Case
P4 3.0E S478 Prescott
GA-8IPE1000PRO2 Motherboard
Gigabyte 6600gt 128mb
2xKingston 512MB DDR400 RAM
1X120gb WD Sata Hard Drive
Creative Audigy 2ZS
Creative 5.1 5200 Speakers
Pioneer 16xDual Layer DVD Burner
aznboi88 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 07:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46
Default

i dont have a personal bias to either brand i'd just go for which ever is the better buy to suit your budget.

i've just purchased a 1gb kingston hyper x low cas kit which im eagerly awaiting delivery of.

if you wanted some cheap ram i'd be looking at corsair value select.
icewizard2k4 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 12:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 40
Default

CORSAIR! lol actually thats a biased view but i think either are good. it depends on what kind of deal your looking for. value ram? or overclocked ram? im soon to get some XMS memory cuase im very satisfied with corsair.
__________________

__________________
P4. 3.4ghz
Ultra heatsink&fan
ASUS P4P-800 Deluxe
74 gig Raptor HD
1GB Corsair Dual Channel XMS TWINX 2-2-2-5
Radeon X850XTPE AGP OCed to 579/600
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 CH
ASPIRE X-Superalien Series Case
ASPIRE 500 Watt PSU
Sony Internal 16X DVD+/-R / Double Layer/DVD+/-RW Drive
Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround Sound
Planar PX191 19\" LCD Monitor

3DMARK05 Score: 6296
-[ZoU]-Kronos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.