Killer Rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2005, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default Killer Rig

Could someone give me a list of the following parts that I would need to dominate any game out there on the highest settings.

Motherboard:
Processor:
Graphics Card:
RAM:
Hard Drive:
PSU:
Case:

Basically I want to be able to play Doom 3 ect. with all settings maxed out and with absolutely no lag. At least 60fps would be ideal.

thanks
__________________

j4ckaL is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Any price?

CPU:FX57
MOBO: DFI lanparty SLI-DR
GPU: 2x 7800gtx
RAM: 2x G. skill 2x512 LA's
HDD: 2x 74gb raptors and 2x 400gb seagates
PSU: OCZ powerstream 600watts OR PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 850 SSI (850 Watt)
Case:what ever you like, I like the Coolermast stacker.
Cooling: A nice powerful peltier and water cooling to cool the peltier
A nice dvd burner
Creative 7.1 for sound card
7.1 creative speakers mega works


Comes to about $3500


OR

AMD 64 3500
DFI lanparty ultra d
6800gt
1gb of OCZ platinum rev. 2
2x seagates in RAID 0
OCZ modstream 500w
case, whatever you like.

comes to about $1300
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 07:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Word.

BTW: wrong section.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

2GB of ram for BF2
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 09:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

wow, really 2 gb ram for bf2??
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 09:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Dont get the mega works, Logitech z-5500's are WAAAYYYY better.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 12:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by woot6600GT
Word.

BTW: wrong section.
Wrong section? this section is called Overclocking, PC Building & Case Mod.

@ Trifid, I take it choice #1 is the "play any game at max settings" choice and choice #2 is the "play any game but not at max settings."

choice #1 is what I was looking for but I don't want the sound card at this point. Onboard sound and cheapo speakers will work for me untill I save more $$.

I don't have a price limit at the moment I just want to know what I would be looking at as far as price goes to play at max settings. $3,500 is alot. Especially when it doesn't include a monitor. But if thats what it costs to have the best (with out going overboard) then thats all I wanted to know.

thanks.
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 01:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

That, however, is going overboard at this point. You could safely buy a amd 4000+, a 6800gt vga, and only 1gb of ram to play at max settings for quite a while. Also hard drive speed isn't at all important for play settings, its more of a factor for load times.
Luxar is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 01:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to Mionics
Default

yeah basically what they^ all said
Mionics is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 01:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Luxar
That, however, is going overboard at this point. You could safely buy a amd 4000+, a 6800gt vga, and only 1gb of ram to play at max settings for quite a while. Also hard drive speed isn't at all important for play settings, its more of a factor for load times.
But what if I wanted to play at 1600x1200 resolution?
__________________

j4ckaL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.