Kcrmyz Needs Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2005, 06:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default Kcrmyz Needs Help

Hey lately I oced my computer. I OCed the bios to a "Memclock index value from 200 to 250". Then when I turned my computer on it wouldnt work. I got reccomends from another person on here. But for reference I came to you guys. I was told that I needed to use the CMOS to jump my bios, to reset the CPU, Which it will unclock it and get it to work. Can I get some heads up and heads down if this is right before I do it.
__________________

KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

yes you need to reset the CMOS.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 09:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Reset the CMOS, there should be a jumper beside the battery on the motherboard, go from pins 1-2 to pins 2-3 then back to 1-2, that will reset the CMOS/BIOS, and don't attempt overclocking unless you know what your doing. And it don't "unlock" the cpu or "reset" the cpu.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 10:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

So this is basically it? What will happen after I reset exactly will everything go back to normal or will there be changes? Will everything be back to normal as it was before after I attempted OCing?
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Once you reset the CMOS/BIOS everything will run at there most basic settings, like the default RAM/CPU speeds and voltages.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 11:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

Ok but what I had from before will still be there right, thats what you mean from back to normal right?
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 11:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

yes.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 12:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Restting your CMOS will return ALL of your BIOS settings back to their default settings. Just like when you first fired up your mobo (or flashed your BIOS, as the case may be).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 10:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

Is this hard to do should I attempt resetting it or get someone else to do it?
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 07:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

All you do is open up your case and look for a little flat battery.

Slide the little metal piece to the sade and pop the battery out. Lay it down and go make a sandwich.

When you finish of your lunch, go back and reverse the steps.

You don't have to leave it out for more than a few seconds, but I figured you'd rather be sure.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.