Just ordered - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2004, 05:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 220
Default Just ordered

Hey,

I just ordered the parts for my new PC and the specs can be seen in my Sig. below. I'll let you know when I start building it.

Retro.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.therandomgamer.com">
<img src="http://www.therandomgamer.com/images/header.jpg">
<p>Gaming Blog and Forum
</a>
Retro is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

awesome . . . by the looks of the ram and gfx, i suspect you're getting a socket 478 cpu?
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

and the fact that itsa p4....
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Yeh.

I need to do a few upgrades still when I get the cash. Some quieter fans for a start. I imagine the ones which come with the case are pretty noisy. I will also probably get a better heatsink and fan than the stock one supplied with the CPU.

Apart from that I'd say I was set.

Retro.
__________________
<a href="http://www.therandomgamer.com">
<img src="http://www.therandomgamer.com/images/header.jpg">
<p>Gaming Blog and Forum
</a>
Retro is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Cool specs. I just got all of my junk today except the Case & HD which is coming real soon.
Regulus is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 06:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Finished building my computer now and windows is installed. Proved to be a very educational experience. Had very few problems, the only two I encountered were having trouble getting the Intel Heatsink and fan attached (seemed like a bit of an old school method of attaching it in my opinion) and tidying the amount of cables supplied with the PSU. Managed to fix this though using some cable management.

Currently my CPU runs at 50 degrees celcius at Idle and around 60 degrees celcius at load. I think these temps are quite good bearing in mind that it is a prescott. Still I might get a PCI slot fan to keep the temps that little bit lower.

Retro.
__________________
<a href="http://www.therandomgamer.com">
<img src="http://www.therandomgamer.com/images/header.jpg">
<p>Gaming Blog and Forum
</a>
Retro is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 12:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

man if u seriously didnt have any probs then i congradulate u it isnt very often that sum1 posts on here sayin theyve sucsessfully made a comp lol
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 03:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

I always successfully make a computer :P

But anyway, Retro are you planning on overclocking when you get a more effective heatsink.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 04:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 220
Default

Perhaps,

I am happy with my clockspeed at the moment, but yeh i might overclock at a later stage. Are my CPU temps good for a "Prescott"? My lowest temp so far is 48 degrees celcius. That was with my windows open at 11pm mind you!

Retro.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.therandomgamer.com">
<img src="http://www.therandomgamer.com/images/header.jpg">
<p>Gaming Blog and Forum
</a>
Retro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.