Just installed Zalman with AS5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 02:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default Just installed Zalman with AS5

I just did it. Installed my Zalman 7000B-ALCU. It sits in there perfectly. The wires from the ATX motherboard power connector are underneath it and touch it as they come out, but it should be fine.

The AS5 sucked to put on. I was so worried about screwing it up. I put the size of a grain of rice and placed the heatsink into position. I didn't realize the heatsink made contact and lifted it to reposition. There was AS5 on the bottom so I put it back into place and tightened it down. It was right in the center so it should be fine.

I had the stock intel heatsink before with a worn out thermal pad. My CPU is at 39C right now and my case temp is 27C. My CPU was about 48C before and my case temp was 34C. These temps are taken from Everest. The Zalman moves alot of air and if what you guys say is true, the AS5 gets better as it breaks in.

I have a StarTech 80mm fan as my intake, a PanaFlo 80mm 39CFM fan as my exhaust, and the 92mm Zalman all running at max fan speed. It's still pretty quiet. I have a Silverstone 92mm 72CFM fan on the way that's going to be my exhaust, the PanaFlo is gonna be my intake, and the StarTech is going into storage. That should make for a nice setup.

Comments.
__________________

klein1jo is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 03:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

Congrats!
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

You may have gotten it down another degree if you didn't remove it and replace it. You introduce air into the grease when you do this, and lessen the effect, ever so slightly.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Really. ****. It wasn't squished yet. Only had half a grain on the chip and another half on the heatsink. Then I squished it. This tweaking sucks. For example, if I move a cable 1" to the left it'll improve the airflow and I'll get another degree, but 1.1" and it'll go up a degree.

I'm gonna shut down my computer while I take a shower. Let it cool down. Then I'm gonna boot it back up and run Prime95 for a couple hours. AS5 says the warming up and cooling down will help improve temps.
klein1jo is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 08:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Dammit. I ran Prime95 for 2 hours. My case temp is 29C and my CPU temp is 42C now. The max temp my CPU hit while priming it was 53C. I'm disappointed.
klein1jo is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 09:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default

i have the same cooler but on my 4400 X2 and for some reason with AS5 im still running at 44 C which is very disappointing. im going to give it a little time and let the AS5 cure then see what happens. i was hoping for more around 37-38 though.
insomniac41 is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 10:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Ya, I was wanting to begin my overclock. Guess I'm going to wait too and see what happens.
klein1jo is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 10:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You have to wait a bit before the AS5 gets harder or something like that to conduct better heat. I think it's something like 40 hours.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

Oh really. So we all know I ran Prime95 for 2 hours. Now lets say I overclocked my computer and got it up to a stable 2.6Ghz. Now lets say I increased the core voltage to 1.6V because the computer started crashing after 2.7Ghz. Do you think the increased heat during the hardening phase might have screwed it up.

All I know is I am hovering around 45C right now and am not too happy considering I was at 38C when I first installed the Zalman and AS5. Really not happy considering my stock heatsink with a crappy thermal pad was running around 48C
klein1jo is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 01:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by filter996
Oh really. So we all know I ran Prime95 for 2 hours. Now lets say I overclocked my computer and got it up to a stable 2.6Ghz. Now lets say I increased the core voltage to 1.6V because the computer started crashing after 2.7Ghz. Do you think the increased heat during the hardening phase might have screwed it up.

All I know is I am hovering around 45C right now and am not too happy considering I was at 38C when I first installed the Zalman and AS5. Really not happy considering my stock heatsink with a crappy thermal pad was running around 48C
u might wanna run prime95 more than 2 hours tho..at least over night like 8 - 10 hours or more. or u can just play games for 3 - 5 hours straight and if u see no problem, its stable.
and i wouldnt go higher than vcore 1.6v. since it heats up other components on mobo...check chipset temp and PWMIC temp also.
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Closed Thread

« CS Source lag | Q's »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.