Just built a new PC and it will not boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2004, 08:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Default Just built a new PC and it will not boot

Just bought a new

Case: V-TECH 8877K

Motherboard: ASUS P4S800


Ram: 2 x ELIXIR 512MB DDR -400MHz -CL3 PC3200U -30330
Part Number: M2U51264DS8HB3G-5T

Graphics Card: POWERCOLOR RADEON 9600 R96-D3GN\

The first thing that I really need to check is that all this crap is compatible??? Or have I been sold components which will not work together?

Put the jigsaw together and it will physically 'turn on' but not boot.

By that I mean that the power button will turn on and the the Case power light will come on.
The Motherboard will spring to life (it has an LED)
The CPU fan will start (as will the power supply fan)

But that is the end of it.

The monitor does not switch from standby (The led should go from orange to green)
The keyboard will not light up -referring to the CAPS lock . (Nor can I get the caps lock to function)

I do not know what can cause such a fundamental failure.

If I could get to BIOS - I would have somewhere to start but cannot even get that far.

I have tried with just one stick of RAM (in case one is faulty) and I have tried each stick in each of the three sockets - Makes no difference.

Any ideas

caarot is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 09:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 62

Does the computer make any beeps after a short time after start up???

A test to which no one knows
Jnewt427 is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 10:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5

I was hoping that this question would not be asked :-)
The new case does not have a speaker!

I have tried using an old speaker form an old case - but I am not sure if it actually works in this case? - At any rate, it does not beep in this build.
caarot is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 10:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5

I just found our from:

That my motherboard has supported my CPU since BIOS version 1003.

If my BIOS is earlier then I will not be able to boot right?

SO how do I check my BIOS version?

ASUS tell me to check the BIOS version displayed on the screen during bootup....... and we all know that I cannot boot up, so.....
caarot is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5

There is a sticker on the BIOS chip. 1005 - SO there goes that theory.
caarot is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 11:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5


The following table shows the support for CPU / Motherboard P4S800

CPU Since PCB Since BIOS

P4-3.20 GHz(800 MHz FSB) ALL 1003

P4-3.20 GHz Extreme Edition ALL 1006
(800 MHz FSB) (HT)

P4-3.20E GHz(800 MHz FSB) 2.01 1006

My MB is ASUS P4S800
It has "Rev 2.00" printed on the board itself

So if my CPU is the P4-3.20E I know where the issue is.

My head hurts - I am going to bed
caarot is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 12:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973

remove your bios battery on your mobo....look in your mobo on resetting your bios....(there will be a jumper you need to move). Go through the mobo handbook and double check then triple check all connections....make sure all of your jumpers are in their correct locations. If all of that fails take it into a shop for professional help.
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
Saphire 9800 Pro

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.

<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 02:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506

several things can cause your computer not to boot.Since you don't have a speaker, you'll have to try and eliminate the cause.

remove/disconnect all hardware (not just the power but the IDE cables and SATA cables if applicable) except your vid card (including memory sticks)and check if you have your POST
if so, connect 1 memory stick and retry.
connect HDD,CD-ROM, diskette etc... and boot after each installation.
My guess is either a bad RAM stick, an incorrectly plugged device or a u/s piece of hardware. good luck

My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.