Jumpy gaming after overclock? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2006, 05:46 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

What kind of power supply do you have?

Maybe your system is getting enough power to run everything.

Just a wild guess.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 06:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default

600W epsilon - Its very sturdy.
__________________

__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 06:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default

Got a new NIC card - its made absolutly no difference :-(

Im really struggling here - im thinking it might be the Motherboard? - But ive had 3 Ds4 borads in here and they have all been the same in this respect. Anyone else heard of this problem?
__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 06:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

What about reinstalling the game?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 02:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Try new video card drivers.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 05:50 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default

will try the drivers when i get home from work.
__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 12:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default

OK - Ive installed the latest drivers for the X1900XT and its made no difference.

For those just jumping to the end of the thread;

Overclocked the games play perfectly offline - but are jumpy when played online.
At stock speeds both online and offline gaming is good, with no noticable graphical difference between them.

So - Whats causing the problem!?

So far ive tried:

Reinstalling game, reinstalling drivers, setting cpu affinity, using new NIC card, and reinstalling windows. - None of these have helped.

Im quite annoyed as i spent that bit extra on buying very overclockable components...

Any more ideas guys?

Thanks.
__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 12:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Jumpy gaming after overclock?

Quote:
Originally posted by Max2559
Hi

So ive overclocked the e6600 to 3.0 ghz (its done 3.4 in the past). Im running it on a Gigabyte Ga965p-DS4 motherboard.

Only ive just noticed that game play (BF2) stutters more when the cpu is overclocked (even a mild overclock to 2.6Ghz has this effect).

The setup is stable as ive run 3dmark05 and prime and mem test....

Is there a reason that overclocking it makes the game more choppy? I thought its meant to increase performance!

Cheers,
question... have you burned in the CPU with prime95 overnight to make sure that your overclock is stable?

also any idea what the temp is on your northbridge chipset? maybe it is overheating?
networkgeek is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 01:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default

Thanks for the reply -

Well - when going for the max overclock i tested it at 3.4Ghz and RAN all the diagnostic checks at that speed. I have not left it testing over night - but for a good few hours during the day (say 5). I considered that ok- shouldnt i have done? I also used sandra, and 3dmark 05 and have played HOURS on end of FEAR off line with it overclocked... and its runs like a dream. - The problem doesnt seem to be the stability of the overclock - It seems to be something to do with online play only!? As ive mentioned before my ping is always very low as ive got a 10Meg line. (Get around 6meg d/l and 1.0 Upload)
__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 01:26 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default

Temp on Northbridge - Hmm just not sure actually. I say this as im positive the thermal sensors on these DS4 boards are all faulty. I get system temp as 34 - Ok that i can believe.
Bit then CPU temp 23 - How can that be? - It cant be lower than the system temp that makes no sense!

Unless im missing something? Ive got a sonic tower on the e6600 with a mid mounted fan - and good case fans so im not overly concerned about temp. - Also if it was the temp of the northbridge it would not occur straight away from the moment i set the O/C would it? Surely it would take some time to overheat?
__________________

__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.