Jerkiness in some games - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2006, 12:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
F.E.A.R still does that for me and i'm running 2 7900gt's!! i'm thinking its my 1 gig of ram holding me back.. so i've ordered my 2nd in hopes of solving that problem
FEAR does that for me to, usually when going around corners. 2GB of RAM here and still the same problem. Although I'm sure for me it has more to do with my graphics card....or the 2.8 D.
__________________

Timaphillips is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 01:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya.. its beyond me... 2.6 ghz 146 and 2 7900gt's... why is this happening!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 01:43 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
ya.. its beyond me... 2.6 ghz 146 and 2 7900gt's... why is this happening!
I'm gonna go ahead and say that this is ABSURD...haha. I feel your pain. I'd be furious if I spent that kind of money on such an SLI setup and it was lagging. Where's that post on bottlenecking again?? haha, jk. I'm sure somebody here will be able to help you out with some suggestions. Off the top of my head, maybe it's the loading time from your HDD? That's all I got.
Timaphillips is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 02:44 AM   #14 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

16mb cache 7200 rpm is certainly not slow!!! my gig of rams coming in tomorrow so it better solve all!! or else its time for a good reformat.. (its been a while)

its weird.. cuz in fear my fps will NEVER drop below 60 fps.. yet sometimes it'll just totally skip.. and it makes me darn angry with all the money i put into this computer
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 06:34 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

I've checked it out, and I can't seem to find a place to increase the chipset voltage! I can increase CPU and RAM voltage, but not chipset. Crappy ASUS mobo! Dagnabit!
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 02:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

You could always do a PCB mod which is what i did. Not very hard at all id say and Nubius will back me up on that one. He was the one that told me to do it. Also on all this i think it has something to do w/ Windows. Idk why but its either Windows, Pagefiling(VR), or drivers. I doubt any of us have bottlenecking problems. I have 2gig DC ram, 3800+ X2, 7800GS Superclocked CO. Yea, no bottlenecking there.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 03:35 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Okay, what is a PCB mod?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 04:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

A motherboard mod in lamens
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 04:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

How do I do it? And is it you can do on all motherboards? Keep in mind, since it is an older socket A mobo, that it still uses a northbridge. Is this mod the same for all mobos?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 06:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

I did it to my nF2ultra-400 board as well. THats what me and him where talking about. Google PCB volt mod and see what you come up w/.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.