JBOD RAID - Work with 1 Drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2005, 06:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default JBOD RAID - Work with 1 Drive?

I just got an ASUS P5GD1.
It only has 1 IDE cable input. I also have a IDE HD and DVD RW. So its just about impossible to reach each other unless I mount the HD drive in the 5" bay. I have two IDE 133 RAIDS.

Will JBOD RAID work with a single drive? JBOD (Just a bunch of drives)

Thanks for any help!
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 01:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Hmm i've heard of this being done with separate partitions on the same drive. Don't quote me though because I've never actually read about it. Let me know if it works tho cause that's an interesting concept.
__________________

bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Do you know if it is possible to boot RAID drivers and create two partions in Windows XP SP2 setup and format it with two partitions with JBOD?

Any one else no for sure? (first quest.)
turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.