It's Final Done : Pics Inside - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2006, 07:29 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

i just hav to ask why the h3ll did u buy that sli board when u could hav got the same one but crossfire instead. that way u could hav added a 2nd card when needed but now when u want sli u hav to buy 2 new cards and get rid of the x1900xtx. thats just a waste of money if u ask me.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 07:31 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

That looks a a sweet computer
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:06 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
i just hav to ask why the h3ll did u buy that sli board when u could hav got the same one but crossfire instead. that way u could hav added a 2nd card when needed but now when u want sli u hav to buy 2 new cards and get rid of the x1900xtx. thats just a waste of money if u ask me.
Well, originally I was going to go with NVIDIA/SLI, so I bought this board. Then I decided totally against SLI period. Instead, I want a kick @ss monster card and i'm going to buy a PPU card in may.

So since I wasn't going SLI... And the X1900XTX was $469 at newegg I said, let's save a tad bit of money for similar performance to the 7900GTX and in may drop $300 on a ASUS Ageia PPU card with 256MB.

So all in all... I'm pretty happy with my decision. I've installed all of my games on this rig and so far it's almost like buy all brand new games. Every game is maxed out. Smooth frames, super responsive... what an unbelieveable difference from what I was used to.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:37 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55
Default

I must say, HELLA NICE JOB. very good on the management. Thats a crazy powerfull system, **** this makes me want to put all my new crap together, but i dont have all the parts, :amazed: so as soon as i get it all done man, it will be wicked.
turboFX55 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:45 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

i would hav sent the mobo bk and got the crossfire one. would make a lot more sense.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:47 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55
Default

wtf are you talking about mental, crossfire is BS, it slows the lanes down to 8x, this board he has is full 16x, even though he cant use 2 radeon cards together, he at least can use another full speed card, for a multi screen system, if i where u havoc keep it just like you got it.
turboFX55 is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:03 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
i would hav sent the mobo bk and got the crossfire one. would make a lot more sense.
He already said that he wasnt going to go with crossfire....
thebleakness is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:13 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 249
Default

How's the Zalman cooler working for you? I'm thinking about just using one of those instead of water colling...
Timaphillips is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:19 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

ok for a start i hav the asus a8r32 mvp crossfire deluxe which is asus's latest board out and supports FULL X16 pci-e slots so u were wrong there. and to thebleakness i was just sayin it was bit stupid to buy that ati card on a sli board. should hav gon for the 7900 series.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:27 PM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Timaphillips
How's the Zalman cooler working for you? I'm thinking about just using one of those instead of water colling...
I think it's great, for aircooling. Easy to install with the A8N32, already had the backplate on it. It's slightly loud, but then again so are my 2 120mm turbines... SCREAMERS.... It's cool though...

System 33C, CPU 33C IDLE:
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.