Internet Speed Test - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2004, 04:21 AM   #41 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

394.3 kilobits per second
Communications 394.3 kilobits per second
Storage 48.1 kilobytes per second
1MB file download 21.3 seconds
Subjective rating Not bad
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 04:33 AM   #42 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

I used Cnet.com's bandwidth meter and got 7300kbps down. Doesn't tell you up.
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 07:44 AM   #43 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

My wireless seems alot faster than my cabled internet when i have an "excellent" connection. otherwise it's about the same. I laways thought cabled would be faster.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 07:59 AM   #44 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Man, this thread is like a torture chamber. Doing a CNET test, I got 6.3 kbps. The best I EVER connect at is 19.2Kbps. I actually feel physical pain when I realize that I may be dealing with these speeds for the next year or so. :
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 08:01 AM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Man, this thread is like a torture chamber. Doing a CNET test, I got 6.3 kbps. The best I EVER connect at is 19.2Kbps. I actually feel physical pain when I realize that I may be dealing with these speeds for the next year or so. :
DSL isn't that much at all...is that an option in your area?
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 08:11 AM   #46 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 4W4K3
DSL isn't that much at all...is that an option in your area?
No, its not. Somebody does not deal with these speeds by choice. If I had another option, I would take it in a heartbeat. I am currently trying to get cable, but they will have to run the lines out to my house and put in a box, which will take a LONG, LONG time. You know how long it takes cable companies to just install standard cable, let along do a big project like this.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 08:18 AM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Can you not do satellite? Or is that too expensive? I'm not sure of the price, but it suposedly is an option for anyone anywhere who can't get high-speed internet otherwise.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 11:02 AM   #48 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Satellite will be my last option, but it looks like its going to cost about the same amount to get cable ran out here as it would to install satellite. Satellite is $600 installation and $60 per month after that. And with that, you only get 512k. I will consider that if this cable deal falls through, but I would rather get 4meg cable.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 11:18 AM   #49 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

bah screw that satellite, $600 install! Damn!
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 11:29 AM   #50 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yes, they take advantage of the unfortunate few who can't get cable or dsl.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.