Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2009, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
PH3N0M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Question Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed...

I'm running a Q9550 at the stock speed of 2.83ghz. The core voltage is around 1.30v. My QX6700 was running at 3.2ghz and I'd like to push this Q9550 to that much. The multiplier is only unlocked to 8.5. What do I need to tweak, and how much, in order to get this to 3.2ghz stable?
__________________

__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RC-7100, Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.67ghz, 6gb Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600, (4) - 150gb WD Raptor X's, (2) - XFX Black Edition GTX 285's in SLI, Creative X-FI Titanium, Dell 3007WFP-HC @ 2560x1600, Loitech G19, Logitech G5, Logitech G51, Logitech G35
PH3N0M is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 11:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed...

since you aren't going for a big OC, probably just FSB and CPU voltage
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 12:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
PH3N0M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Default Re: Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
since you aren't going for a big OC, probably just FSB and CPU voltage
Okay, like how much? I've never done any tweaking before so any helpful tips would be appreciated.
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RC-7100, Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.67ghz, 6gb Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600, (4) - 150gb WD Raptor X's, (2) - XFX Black Edition GTX 285's in SLI, Creative X-FI Titanium, Dell 3007WFP-HC @ 2560x1600, Loitech G19, Logitech G5, Logitech G51, Logitech G35
PH3N0M is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed...

the same way that you got the qx6700 to 3.2?

3200mhz / 8.5 = ~376

voltage try 1.3 and lower it in small steps until you can't boot into windows
bump it up a little bit so you can boot into windows

download and run intel burn test

if unstable bump up your voltage a little bit more
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 01:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
PH3N0M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Default Re: Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
the same way that you got the qx6700 to 3.2?

3200mhz / 8.5 = ~376

voltage try 1.3 and lower it in small steps until you can't boot into windows
bump it up a little bit so you can boot into windows

download and run intel burn test

if unstable bump up your voltage a little bit more

The QX9700 was already set and it could go no higher than 3.2. All I had to do was bump it from 2.66 to 2.93 or 3.2. So, no, I can't do it the same way.

I bumped my core voltage from 1.3v to 1.4v and my FSB from 1.1v to 1.2v but, it didn't change anything.
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RC-7100, Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.67ghz, 6gb Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600, (4) - 150gb WD Raptor X's, (2) - XFX Black Edition GTX 285's in SLI, Creative X-FI Titanium, Dell 3007WFP-HC @ 2560x1600, Loitech G19, Logitech G5, Logitech G51, Logitech G35
PH3N0M is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 01:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed...

Ok, sounds good, now raise the fsb in 5 to 10 increments.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 10:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PH3N0M View Post
The QX9700 was already set and it could go no higher than 3.2. All I had to do was bump it from 2.66 to 2.93 or 3.2. So, no, I can't do it the same way.

I bumped my core voltage from 1.3v to 1.4v and my FSB from 1.1v to 1.2v but, it didn't change anything.
first you said QX6700 now you say QX9700

2nd, you just said you bumped your core voltage from 1.3v to 1.4v and fsb from 1.1v to 1.2
that obviously changed the voltage

get your facts straight then come back



if you don't change your FSB or multi, obviously you'll be stuck @ 2.83ghz
as I said before: "3200mhz / 8.5 = ~376 " so set your fsb to 376 see if it posts
with 1.4v on a 45nm you should be looking at 3.6ghz if not higher already
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 11:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed...

you should be able to hit 3.6 at 1.225-1.3V. my 9450 does 3.6 easy with 1.25V, so the extra 1/2 multiplier (8 for my 9450 vs 8.5 for your 9550) of the 9550 should make it even easier for you.
i think you are saying that changing the voltage didnt up your clock, it wont. you have to raise the clock manually in your bios. changing the voltage doesnt automatically change your cpu clock.
to do 3.2 on a 9550 you shouldnt have to change anything but the FSB, and maybe a small RAM speed adjustment.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 12:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagasama View Post
you should be able to hit 3.6 at 1.225-1.3V. my 9450 does 3.6 easy with 1.25V, so the extra 1/2 multiplier (8 for my 9450 vs 8.5 for your 9550) of the 9550 should make it even easier for you.
i think you are saying that changing the voltage didnt up your clock, it wont. you have to raise the clock manually in your bios. changing the voltage doesnt automatically change your cpu clock.
to do 3.2 on a 9550 you shouldnt have to change anything but the FSB, and maybe a small RAM speed adjustment.
Unless you have a really crapola mobo, and some dodgey ram.. then you have to run at 1.4v like me just to get 3.6 and + 0.3v on the ram.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 12:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Intel Q9550 overclocking advice needed...

well the 790i wont overclock as high as a intel chipset. but you should be able to get 3.2, just set the FSB to 380. the 790i will be able to handle that and leave the ram "linked" mode.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Intel Overclocking thread Ste Overclocking and Modding 459 01-26-2010 07:49 AM
intel Q9450 overclocking Da Viksta Overclocking and Modding 3 04-05-2008 08:01 PM
Advice needed on deploying Outlook 2000. Fac51 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-17-2007 10:02 AM
New build advice needed sguffee New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-12-2007 11:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.