Intel Pentium D - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2006, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
saladfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default Intel Pentium D

I read somewhere on Tom Hardware that the rather cheap dual core pentium d could be overclocked from around 2ghz up to around 4ghz

this would be an incredible leap

has anyone actually done this?

is it really stable at that speed?
__________________

saladfork is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

P4's got as high as 7GHz, lol.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
saladfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default

Yea but this $130 CPU would rival other very expensive Intel dual cores
saladfork is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 05:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

its not all about ghz....
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 05:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

using a Pentium D wouldn't be worth the money. you would end up spending MORE in the long run on that than you would with a C2D 6300 OC'd. The D would run hotter, consume more power, not to mention the performance difference.

EDIT: It wouldn't be worth it if you had to BUY the Pentium D, but it would be an option if you already had one... but it would still run hot, and consume power. /EDIT
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 09:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i still hate THG for this article, curse them.

you are thinking of the Pentium D 805. it is clocked at 2.66GHz and yes THG did overclock their cpu to 4.1GHz if i remember correctly. that doesn't mean you can expect to do the same thing. they cost a heck of a lot to operate due to power consumption and they emit a lot of heat. THG didn't reach 4GHz on stock cooling, they needed water cooling. as soon as you throw in watercooling it is going to be more expensive than using an Athlon X2 or a C2D.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 09:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Default

it matter wuht pentium D, i saw a review on a Pentium D in the 900 series that was 3.0ghz and they OC'ed to over 4.oghz with stock cooling and i intend on OCing mine somewhere up there as well.
schecterbassist is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 09:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry, i couldn't quite comprehend what you're saying

the 9XX series is a bit different though.....
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 10:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I bet is was about that 805. And yes, it did hit 4.1GHz:
http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/05/..._41_ghz_cores/
It went up to 3.6 GHz on air without adjusting the vcore or anything. Sure that's kinda cool, but still doesn't hold a candle to C2Ds.

The C2D E6400 (2.1GHz) pummels the Pentium D 960 (3.6GHz). The reason why I compare those two is because the 960 has that 3.6GHz that you might be able to get out of an 805.

I should also point out that the only frequency a CPU is guaranteed to run at is what it says on the box, no higher. That means that if you were to get an 805, it might be stuck at 2.66GHz.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.