Intel P-4 (3.0Ghz), Slowest One - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2005, 07:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default Intel P-4 (3.0Ghz), Slowest One

Hi,
I just joined this site. I have a problem regarding my system.
I just bought: Board Intel D915-GAV with Hyper Threading Technology. Intel Original Processor 3.0 Ghz with 1 Mb L2 cache. Kingston DDR 512 Mb and 80 Gb SATA hard drive.
My computer is connected to a LAN network of 6 computers. I always have a problem of system slow down. When i install fresh windows, it works well for 2 days and then my system again starts lagging. Imagine even it cann't play songs or movies, games become slow--slower---slowest. I also Defragmented my hard drive but nothing.
I tried to resolve that problem by disabling the network but the problem is still there. Can any one help me out?
Thanks
__________________

farrukhonline is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 10:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

hmm...do you have plenty of airflow cooling the P4? latest MB bios? I'm not really sure what your problem is, but those might be some good places to start... good luck
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

it shouldn't be the chip...i have the exact same one and it runs as good and fast as the day i got it....check and make sure that you're not somehow collecting spyware, and also see how many programs you have running in the background... if it's none of these problems then it might be somthing to do with the OS install.. if it is spyware then get a program called SpyBot Search and Destory.....if it's programs then open MS config by typing Msconfig in the run command then go to the startup tap and uncheck everything u don't want running on startup
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

yea, that's true. if you're connected to a network, it's a good possibility someone else on the network has spyware/virus that is sneaking its way over to your computer. have the other people ont he network scan their computers too
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
mfa
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default my setup

I use a network at home as well.
The things I have always kept an eye on:
1) hardware. tempuratures - cpu, gpu, chipset usually this is as easy as having a good (and quiet) case fan.
2) software. Anti-virus is a must www.free-av.com
I recommend it to everyone because they update it mutiple times per day - free for personal use.
Anti-spyware in the network situation especially, you need this. Scan weekly. AdAware is a popular one, and the microsoft one aparently works too.
3) firewall. firewall your computer from the rest of the network to prevent internal spreading of evil software, not just for exernal hack prevention. the winXP one works fine, and SELinux (security enhanced linux) is even better. A hareware firewall such as an old computer running a light-weight OS can also be set up to block advertising servers.
mfa is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 06:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Yes i am going to check my PC with ANti Spy softwares. But i did one thing else that i enabled and disabled Hyper Threading from BIOS and i checked that the system speed remains the same. I think that some spy is in the board memory, i mean to say in BIOS (may be). There is no heating in my PC and temperature is always normal.
__________________

farrukhonline is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.