Intel i7 Overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2009, 07:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 222
Default Intel i7 Overclocking

Hi, I've never overclocked before, so I came here to ask how to overclock a Intel i7. I've never actually seen someone overclock, so I don't know the process. For more information, my specs are in my signature.
__________________

__________________
Intel i7 965 @ 3.20GHz
Two Nvidia GeFore GTX 280 (1GB Each)
12GB RAM
Dell 2009W 1650x1050
Vista Home Premium & Windows 7
Ulquiorra Schiffer is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Intel i7 Overclocking

We'll need more information than that to help you out. If I'm reading your pic right you have an Alienware PC so you should be able to overclock it. But it would help to know what motherboard they used. Take the side panel off and look at the motherboard. You should be able to see the Make (Asus, EVGA, Gigabyte, Msi ect..) and the model number on the board somewere.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Intel i7 Overclocking

This helped me out a little bit when I didn't know anything at ALL about OCing..

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 222
Default

There was a XML document of my systems specs, I'll just post the motherboard information from it.

Motherboard Information
[IMG]file:///C:/WINDOWS/System32/Alienware/hr.gif[/IMG]
  • MB_Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
  • MB_Product: P6T DELUXE
  • MB_SerialNumber: MB-1234567890
  • MB_Version: Rev 1.xx


Bump. Please help out.
__________________
Intel i7 965 @ 3.20GHz
Two Nvidia GeFore GTX 280 (1GB Each)
12GB RAM
Dell 2009W 1650x1050
Vista Home Premium & Windows 7
Ulquiorra Schiffer is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Intel i7 Overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulquiorra Schiffer View Post
Bump. Please help out.
no reason to bump your thread bro, if somebody here is able to help you, then most likely they will, just have patience

edit: have at it

Guide: Overclocking The i7
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Intel i7 Overclocking

Don't bump your own thread. The forums have been slow lately, people will get to you when they get to you.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 11:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Intel i7 Overclocking

^ just take your time with it.. If something doesn't work out, just ask.. No harm no foul (unless you fry something, lol.. I've popped that cherry.)

You know how to do a CMOS reset, right? You may need that.


And at least I'm not the only one who notices that the boards have been slow.. This is the only section on here I really care about, the tech section! lol
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 12:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Intel i7 Overclocking

Er, I'm a newbie. I don't know how.
__________________
Intel i7 965 @ 3.20GHz
Two Nvidia GeFore GTX 280 (1GB Each)
12GB RAM
Dell 2009W 1650x1050
Vista Home Premium & Windows 7
Ulquiorra Schiffer is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 12:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Intel i7 Overclocking

you sure did start out with an expensive system to learn with.

edit to reset csmos there a few ways.

the first is the easiest. some motherboards have a reset button (for cmos)

the second way is to use the jumpers (for cmos)

the 3rd is to simply take out the battery (round) for a few minutes.

if you have your motherboard manual, open it up and read it. (if you dont, go to asus and download it)
it will inform you on alot of stuff.

and if you have extra cash laying around,......buy some cheap conponents and try to assemble a pc yourself (assuming you didnt put that one together), once you have succesfully built a pc, you become familar with it and how it ticks somewhat. thats just my 2 cents.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 12:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Intel i7 Overclocking

I got it for free (not from a relative or friend)... I'm 13 years old and I want to learn overclocking at an early age.
__________________

__________________
Intel i7 965 @ 3.20GHz
Two Nvidia GeFore GTX 280 (1GB Each)
12GB RAM
Dell 2009W 1650x1050
Vista Home Premium & Windows 7
Ulquiorra Schiffer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech-Forums Recommended PC Components v2.0 Puddle Jumper New Systems | Building and Buying 76 07-27-2009 02:36 AM
Intel to Retaliate to AMD Phenom II Overclocking Feat, Plans Demonstration at CES '09 gurusan New Technology and Products 40 12-04-2008 04:27 AM
On January 18, Intel will release E5300, E5400, E7500, and 65W TDP Quad !! maroon1 New Technology and Products 7 11-20-2008 09:01 AM
Sun Leaks 6-core Intel Xeon !!! maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 04-04-2008 10:29 PM
Help required: Overclocking a Intel Q6600 (g0) trip121 Overclocking and Modding 9 01-09-2008 12:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.