Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300 - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2008, 07:12 PM   #61 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300

what about tracers? or ballistix???
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:17 PM   #62 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300

I think he's looking for a 2x2gb kit and the ballistix 4gb kits are a bit more expensive.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:39 PM   #63 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300

Thats a crazy good deal on the Reapers and they are the best timed 4gb Kit ever
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 08:04 PM   #64 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Michigan, US
Posts: 19
Default Re: Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300

So, the OCZ PC6400 would be better? I know the timings are lower, but they're still PC6400 vs PC8000?

I'm sure I could overclock them to 1066 with similar timings, though, from what I've seen.

I was just looking for confirmation.

The ones you're mentioning, Rican, are a fair bit more expensive. I'm already spending a little more than I was expecting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
I think he's looking for a 2x2gb kit and the ballistix 4gb kits are a bit more expensive.
There's no reason to get 4GB Sticks, as I believe the board only supports 8GB total anyway. And, I have no need for more than that. So, getting 2 things of 2x2GB would only make sense
Blahages is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 10:02 PM   #65 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300

Ok, well youre gonna have a nice rig bill. And youre gonna rack up those fah points....im screwed.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 10:52 PM   #66 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Michigan, US
Posts: 19
Default Re: Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Ok, well youre gonna have a nice rig bill. And youre gonna rack up those fah points....im screwed.
?

Maybe I'll pull some of those machines out that I'm using right now, as they really SHOULD be being put to the use they were originally intended for.

I'm currently down to 6/8 computers folding right now. Not sure why. I know why it's not running on one machine, but the second, I'm not sure. I will find out tomorrow.

I'm still not running a GPU Client. So, if you get a new card like you say you were going to (If you haven't already) then you might be good. I have no intention of buying a new card anytime soon, and if I did, it wouldn't be one of the cards that supports the FAH GPU client anyway, as I don't need anything that good.

I've already ordered the Case and the CPU. I'm ordering it in stages:

1 = Case
2 = CPU
3 = Heatsink, Motherboard, and Thermo Paste
4 = RAM

I may cut that back to just 3, and combine the last two, because apparently I have a daily 500$ limit on my debit card or something, and it's not letting me validate my card for #3, so hopefully at midnight, it'll work again, and I can get the rest.
Blahages is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 01:06 AM   #67 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Michigan, US
Posts: 19
Default Re: Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300

Okay, I didn't do a very good job reading that the first time. Thought it was still the same PC6400 RAM that I had mentioned, but it's not.

That would be better, as it's only 2 dollars more, technically, after rebates.

I've just gotta work something out, because I'd be getting two sets of it, and they only do one rebate per person, per household, per product.

I'm also hoping it'll fit in there with all the stuff that'll be crammed around, with the heatsink and everything. I don't know how well it'll work.
Blahages is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 02:16 AM   #68 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blahages View Post
Okay, I didn't do a very good job reading that the first time. Thought it was still the same PC6400 RAM that I had mentioned, but it's not.

That would be better, as it's only 2 dollars more, technically, after rebates.

I've just gotta work something out, because I'd be getting two sets of it, and they only do one rebate per person, per household, per product.

I'm also hoping it'll fit in there with all the stuff that'll be crammed around, with the heatsink and everything. I don't know how well it'll work.
Itll fit. And the p180 series of cases are midtowers, but large midtowers.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 04:08 AM   #69 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blahages View Post
Okay, I didn't do a very good job reading that the first time. Thought it was still the same PC6400 RAM that I had mentioned, but it's not.

That would be better, as it's only 2 dollars more, technically, after rebates.

I've just gotta work something out, because I'd be getting two sets of it, and they only do one rebate per person, per household, per product.

I'm also hoping it'll fit in there with all the stuff that'll be crammed around, with the heatsink and everything. I don't know how well it'll work.
Why do you want 8gb?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 09:31 AM   #70 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Michigan, US
Posts: 19
Default Re: Intel guys....opinions on Q6700 vs Q9300

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
Why do you want 8gb?
Well, I figured I could probably use up the 4GB of ram, especially if I turn off Virtual Memory.

For now, I'll just get 4, and see how it goes...

Especially since apparently my stupid Debit card won't let me spend more than like 500$ in one day, then voids if I spend more than like 200 the next day...

I just figured, I might have gone with it anyway, and there's a 35$ rebate on it right now anyway.
__________________

Blahages is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me out Guys! New Gaming Computer! JDM555 New Systems | Building and Buying 85 02-04-2008 09:17 PM
n00b build, opinions plzzz 1greek4u New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-03-2008 04:28 PM
Intel Readies Desktop Penryn Models maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-30-2007 01:50 PM
Price point AMD vs Intel dario03 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-25-2007 07:00 PM
Intel future processors will be lead-free and environmentally friendly maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-23-2007 11:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.