Intel Gaming Machine : Only $5915.50 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 03:00 PM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

MasterJason, just get the 4000 rather then the 4200. All the 4200 has over the 4000 is 2.6ghz and is 90nm. You just OC to 2.6ghz+. I already have mine at 2.6ghz, real easy OC too.
How much is that mobo though?
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 03:15 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

But you can OC the 4200 more

He's an OC'er
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 01:02 AM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Yeah, so am I you could say- but it'd be more accurate to say that I oc'd so long as I improved my gaming performance and not for the bragging rights.

As to gaming rigs, AMD owns it- so drop it. Should I have to post even MORE links to benchmarks to prove that the A64 P!$$&$ all over any of Intel's products in gaming? AMD owns it, its be proven over and over, so drop it and accept Intel's defeat in this area.

I'd say the 4200 just becuase it'll oc higher- like 3 to 3.2GHz. Pretty dang nice for being on air. Too bad the P4 can't get that kind of an oc on air while having REASONABLE temperatures as well (below 40 idling is reasonable).
retherfordaehs is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 05:11 AM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by retherfordaehs
As to gaming rigs, AMD owns it- so drop it. Should I have to post even MORE links to benchmarks to prove that the A64 P!$$&$ all over any of Intel's products in gaming? AMD owns it, its be proven over and over, so drop it and accept Intel's defeat in this area.
first off the AMD does not "own" an intel. If think the AMD "owns" because it has like 100-200 more points in a game benchmark, than I will show you how Intel completely blows any AMD out of the water in video editing (rendering/encoding)

But it seems AMD does perform better in games dont get me wrong BUT it does NOT OWN! But show me a person who can notice 1-6 frame increase in a game
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 05:57 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I could, over what I get with my system
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 01:14 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I can notice a 6fps difference
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 05:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I dont think you can tell by your eyes only. You can probably know the difference because maybe you have the FPS stats running while you play?
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 06:14 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Those wildcat $1000-$2000 cards are purely for CAD type rendering. Aren't meant for games at all. I suppose they COULD work, but honestly I don't think it'd play a game very well...not meant for it at all.

Quote:
But it seems AMD does perform better in games dont get me wrong BUT it does NOT OWN!
Well that being said, you can't say 'Intel OWNS either' each one excels at one area over the other.

Not saying you did say it owned, I'm just throwing that out there

Whatever people...this isn't an AMD vs Intel thread so don't even start it.. It's already on the path to closure if it continues
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:12 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

my amd 3500 beats the 3.77 EE in some games o.O
Echo_ is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 02:40 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Have you read any reviews of the new A64s with the new steppings? The added SSE3 support and such? Intel is losing where they once reigned. Also, AMD has REAL dual core, Intel's is just a bolt on. AMD has full 64 bit registers while EM64T is just 32 that was extended to 48. Thats 16 registers short for full 64 bit.

Yeah, for now AMD IS technologically in the lead. If you want to continue this I'll see you in the AMD vs. Intel thread.

I just laugh when I see the word "gaming" with "intel" next to it, they DO NOT mix. It is even funnier when you see the words "Over Clock" next to Intel with air cooling, seems and oxy moron.
__________________

retherfordaehs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.