Intel Gaming Machine : Only $5915.50 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 03:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Intel Gaming Machine : Only $5915.50

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
Well, just fooling around on Newegg.com. Interested to see what close to $6,000.00 dollars could get ya. This is what I came up with.

Here it is: Comments?

CPU: Intel P4 Extreme Edition 3.73GHz 1066MHz FSB Socket LGA775
Motherboard: ASUS "P5AD2-E Premium" i925XE
Case: RAIDMAX Samurai XE Black ATX Mid tower
Power Supply: Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Memory: OCZ Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Revision 2 Limited Edition 240-Pin (2)GB DDR2 PC2-4200
HDD's: (2) WD Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM SATA in RAID 0
Additional Storage: Seagate 7200.8 300GB 7200RPM SATA w/ NCQ
Optical Drive 1: SAMSUNG 16X DVD Drive
Optical Drive 2: HP DVD640I Internal DVD±R/DVD±RW w/ LightScribe
Other Drives: Standard Floppy
Video Card: SAPPHIRE ATI RADEON X850 XT PE, 256MB GDDR3, 256-Bit, Dual DVI/VIVO/HDTV, PCI-E
Audio Card: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 4 Pro PCI Sound Card
Cooling System: Thermaltake BigWater 12cm Liquid Cooling System
Keyboard / Mouse: Logitech Cordless Desktop LX700
Monitor: SONY SDM-P234/B 23" Wide Screen Flat Panel LCD
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2

If my paypal account only had $6000.00 in it!
The EE's are junk for the price. Go for a dual setup with Xeons. Also if you really really like doom 3 and other OpenGL games get a Wildcat workstation card w/ 512mb VRAM
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 06:32 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

I didn't think games always worked on dual processors.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 06:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Games do work with dual processors, but they work individually, one on background tasks, and the other for the game.

I wish I had 6 grand to spend on a pc................... droools.................. electricutes myself from saliver getting into my pc.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 07:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Most games DO NOT support SMP (Symetrical Multi Processing) But you can set affinities to each individual CPU. for example : all windows background processes on 1 cpu. The game on the other.
you will get better performance if your CPU is dedicated just to the game
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:11 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
Most games DO NOT support SMP (Symetrical Multi Processing) But you can set affinities to each individual CPU. for example : all windows background processes on 1 cpu. The game on the other.
you will get better performance if your CPU is dedicated just to the game
Any benchmarks for a dual xeon?
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Re: Intel Gaming Machine : Only $5915.50

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
The EE's are junk for the price. Go for a dual setup with Xeons. Also if you really really like doom 3 and other OpenGL games get a Wildcat workstation card w/ 512mb VRAM
Still will be outpeformed by an fx-55, or else the top end gaming platforms would be dualies.

Workstation card, for autocad and video rendering, not gaming.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 12:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Re: Re: Intel Gaming Machine : Only $5915.50

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Still will be outpeformed by an fx-55, or else the top end gaming platforms would be dualies.
2 Intel Xeon 3.6E's w/ EM64 would crush an FX-55 in certain areas, and for gaming the FX-55 wont outperform the Xeon by much. Due to the fact that nowadays your video card does almost all of the work.
And the reason that they dont use dual setups in HIGH end gaming platforms is because of the keyword "gaming", a dual setup would be a considered a Workstatio platform,also another reason they are not used is because of the cost. (2) 3.6E Xeon's would cost you $1400 when the FX-55 would cost $900
Also a Dual CPU mobo and RAMBUS makes things even more expensive.

Also those Wildcats can be used to play Doom 3 and other OpenGL games. If I really liked Doom 3 and could not get enough of it I guess I would buy an $800.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 01:36 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I still cant believe Intel managed to screw up the 3.73 EE. I mean how hard is it to built something better... It seems like they just started rushing these processors since AMD was spitting all these great ones on the market. I also cant believe the FX-55 is 880$, while the 3.46 EE is over 1000$.


Uzi9mm, im not completely sure, but i think the 3.6 Xeons are more then 2 processors. My friend just built a server and got his W/20 line installed. His has 6 500mhz Xeons. Then he discovered that windows XP cant utilize more then 2 processors, but 2000 can. So hes getting Windows Server 2003. Another thing, the mobos that support processors like Xeons, all have onboard video cards. Nothing near 64bit. So playing games like Doom3 wouldent work for that reason. Im sure their are mobos for those types of processors that support AGP. But those would be so damn expensive. Not just because its AGP, but the mobo would have to utilize it with the processors a completely different way.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 01:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

i'D Say DFI nF4 Ultra + 4200+ San Sandiago core 1mb Cache AMD. Or FX57 / 4000+ Venince..Anyways all the news cores will be avaliable soon.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:30 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
Another thing, the mobos that support processors like Xeons, all have onboard video cards. Nothing near 64bit. So playing games like Doom3 wouldent work for that reason. Im sure their are mobos for those types of processors that support AGP. But those would be so damn expensive. Not just because its AGP, but the mobo would have to utilize it with the processors a completely different way.
This board supports 32gb max ram 2 Xeons and 1 PCI-E slot.(Wildcat Realismz) This is a perfect Doom3 machine/server.
Any yes you can support more than 2 xeons, i already know that.
http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderi7525.html
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.