intel chipsets - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2005, 07:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Default intel chipsets

hey all I am new here

ok well here is my question hopefully in the right area

I am running a intel 2.0 845PE chipset

what is the difference between my ASUS P4PE 845PE CHIPSET BOARD
AND A 865PE CHIPSET BOARD IE: THE ASUS P4P800 E DX

please help me

CAN I RUN MY OLDER CHIP ON THE NEW BOARD OR DO I NEED TO BUY A NEW CHIP ASWELL
__________________

Brodierider is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 07:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You can't take your chip out of your board, I really dont see what your getting at.

For the CPU, yes you should be able to run your CPU on a new board, even though their is abosuletly no point.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 09:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Default

I want a straight answer can a 533 MHZ 845PE 2.00GHZ intel chipset run on the ASUS P4P800 E DX MOTHERBOARD

NO SHOULD
Brodierider is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 09:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Like DJ-CHRIS said, you can't take your chipset out of your board and put it into that one.

Straight answer = no.

However, your processor, which is different to your chipset, will run in that board.

Do you mean the actual processor, the Pentium?
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Default

ok you got me

yes I mean my processer

but what is the difference between an 845 PE and 865PE
Brodierider is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

865PE:
http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/865pe/index.htm

845PE:
http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/845pe/index.htm

The 865PE has some more features such as support for 800MHz FSB, AGP8X, and SATA.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Their's no point on upgrading your motherboard though.

Your old CPU is what is slowing you down.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Default

I NEED TO UPGRADE DUE TO A VIDEO UPGRADE
MY BOARD ONLY SUPPORTS 4X AGP SO



m3trj
OK SO FROM WHAT YOU JUST SAID

AM I OK TO RUN A 8X AGP CARD SUCH AS THE BFG GEFORCE FX5500 256MB CARD ON A 845PE

AMD IS SATA AVAILIBLE ASWELL

WOULD IT BE BETTER IF I WENT AND BOUGHT THE 865PE CHIP ALL TOGETHER
Brodierider is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

YOU CAN USE A 8X VIDEO CARD IN A 4X AGP SLOT BECAUSE THEY 8X IS BACKWARDS COMPATIBLE.

YES YOU WILL GET BETTER PERFORMANCE FROM THE 865PE CHIPSET, BECAUSE IT SUPPORTS 800MHZ FSB AND 8X AGP.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 11:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

OK calm down people...

The processor might be a 533Mhz FSB, in which case the 800Mhz that the 865 offers won't be of any use as it'll be running at 533 anyway.

As for SATA, I think that this is dependant on the motherboard, not the chipset.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.