Intel build under 650..what do you guys think? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2005, 08:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

You already have mine. But, I'll go a little further.

If your PSU is going to be good quality, and therefore relable, then 350W will be perfectly fine. Remember, though, 350W is maximum power, not sustained/constant power. To run a PSU at full tilt constantly is hard on it's components.

This is where quality of the PSU comes in handy. If the PSU manufacturer didnt cheap out and actually has its sustainable power close to 300W, then you should be ok.

Like I said, 350W is a bit risky, but the choice is yours. I made the same choice to go with a 350W PSU that came with a no-name case, with my power requirements nearing yours. I dont regret it, but I keep an eye out for random reboots.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 02:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 86
Default

Are you sure you want a beige case?
__________________

__________________
man these peas ROCK!
Kray is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 07:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to evelmunkey
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kray
Are you sure you want a beige case?
No I dont WANT a beige case but money is tight and I would rather have an ugly case and good computer than have to downgrade my processor to get a mod worthy case. I will be looking into the 400W power supply. I may just wait a bit to get the better PSU/Case.
__________________
evelmunkey is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 08:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

i don't think you should get a 945 or 955 mobo, it might not be used for later dual-cores. You could just be wasting money, along with the ddr2. Rather spend on psu, 15A on the +12V is really low. 350 watt is alright, but the 15A isn;t going to work, even for a bare minimal AMD system, you need 18A. either one will do.
Rosewill RP550 ATX 550W Power Supply-57
ASPIRE ATX-AS520W BLACK ATX 520W Power Supply-55
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

no i dissagree i would get a 945 chipset so u can upgrade later to dual core with the 1066fsb here is a very nice one with a lot of pata and sata
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131538
as said earlier that is a sick mobo which i am going to buy very soon and yes go with the 6xx series and value ram unless u are a sick overclocker but i ahve my fsb at 232 and thats why im getting a new mobo so i can overclock farther and cant wait and the value ram has held up nicely no problems whatsoever
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 09:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I agree with Timmer. The 945 chipset is a must. it will be able to support dual cores. Although people bash Intel dual cores, they aren't that bad of performers, especially the 2,8 GHz one. With DDR2 memory, you can easily overclock that baby with the 533 FSB. That is a sweet overclock. Just make sure that your using extreme cooling while overclocking the dual cores, as I hear that they can get really hot. Also btw, did I not mention that you should get a dual core later on? .

ow ya, the 533 FSB will help you overclock even the 5xx processor pretty well.

Also as a side note. WOW coarsair value select ddr2 is so cheap.

Also, just as a warning, you should be doing 0 overclocking with that power supply that you have.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.