Intel or AMD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 12:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default Intel or AMD?

My girlfriend's sister wants me to build her a computer this summer. Now my question is, should i go Intel or AMD? She mostly going to be doing internet surfing, MSN, music and the ocasional game or two (nothing intense)... and she doesn't want a Celeron or Semperon. If I decide to build her an Intel system it would cost a lot more than AMD, is it worth going Intel for this system?
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 12:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

why doesnt she want a sempron or celeron if she isnt gonna be doing intensive stuff 嫃_嫃
__________________

contry is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I don't know, she's got $2000 to spend, so she doesn't see the point of cheaping out. She also wants it to last a bit longer than low end products.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 01:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

$2000 to spend is wayyy to much. $700 is about what is going to be spent on what you want...
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 01:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Ok, well since she doesnt do alot of gaming I say go Intel for this one. Also uzi9mm is right, $2000 is overkill even for a supreme computer.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 02:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
she's got $2000 to spend
$_$ wow, if i was gonna use it for internet surfing ill just get a P3 900mhz, 128mb ram and a 40 gig HD >_>' lol, and i would play starcraft and warcraft, and maybe some half life and diablo 2
contry is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 02:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Oh wait...... $2000 Canadian. Which currently is $1,618.

that still is alot a money......... You could just buy a used computer,maybe a p3 like contry said.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 03:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

lol $1618 for a internet comp *drools*

omg i had 1275 for a gaming comp

but try and convince her to get a amd xp or sempron cos it sounds like she won't accept a p3
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 03:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

just get a really pretty case, i bet u she wont notice that she is runing a p3 hehe
contry is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 03:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by contry
$_$ wow, if i was gonna use it for internet surfing ill just get a P3 900mhz, 128mb ram and a 40 gig HD >_>' lol, and i would play starcraft and warcraft, and maybe some half life and diablo 2
lol i think 40gig might be overkill i mean my mum was useing a comp with p166 32mb ram 3gig hdd and 8Xcdrom for ages and it was fast enough until it died
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.