Intel or AMD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2004, 08:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to FoLeafClova
Default Intel or AMD?

Simple question, but i was really wanting to compare the AMD Athlon 64 3200+ to the Intel Pentium 4 w/ HT Technology 3.2 GHz 800 MHz FSB 512KB Cache
__________________

FoLeafClova is offline  
Old 03-23-2004, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Send a message via AIM to yashar
Default

amd
__________________

yashar is offline  
Old 03-23-2004, 09:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

dat wuld be my point to..AMD BUT im too lazy to explain whyy becuse there have been sooo many of these threads. AMD is bang on for the buck if that quote means nething...hope i helped a lil lol
__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-23-2004, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Send a message via AIM to yashar
Default

Quote:
explain whyy becuse there have been sooo many of these threads
true....
yashar is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 07:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

eh well.... if ur willing to spend ur money, u should get the intel. I think the extreme edition would own the AMD 3200 64 bit. If you wanted to get the AMD 64 FX, then i would get the FX instead of the intel 3.2 extreme edition,
Monster00 is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 12:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

No, do not go for the extreme edition. It's just a waste of money; I mean $930?! It's not even close to being better than any of the 64's regardless when it comes down to money. Intel's just trying to make money with the same chips with "hype names".
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 03:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

yup yup... amd for this matter and yes the EE chip is a waste of money, silly intel, you're funny, trying to make a chip to keep up with our lovely AMD.. well you came close, but i'm not paying for you, i went with progressive, i have a choice!
Demalii is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 12:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

AMD
__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 76
Default

Get the amd. It costs less and they perform side by side with each other. Don't let intel's Extreme edition Gold platinum series bull sway your decision. That just doesn't do too much for performance. It's there to bring in the extra $200.

You'll hear both ways in forums and everywhere else. It's really up to the buyer if they want to spend more on a name.

It's up to you.

P.S. I didn't mean to offend the intel lovers out there.
__________________
Powmax 0329-1 w/400w psu | Asus a7v8x-x mobo
Barton 2600 @ 2.1 | (SLK-800a w/Coolermaster)
Ultra 512mb PC2700 | Western Digital 120gig
Lite on 52x32x52 CD-RW | Lite On 4x DVD+-RW
Gigabyte Radeon 9200 | 5 Coolermasters

PICTURES

\"I do not regret the things I\'ve done...but those I did not do.\"
steven1110 is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 06:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

well i mean ive had intel all my life and i like them. I always want to try new stuff so the next time i upgrade im gonna try AMD. I guess when i upgrade too, all processors will be 64 bit but thats a long way and just my opinion.
__________________

Monster00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.