Increasing Stock Fan Speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2006, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default Increasing Stock Fan Speed

i only have one fan in my "GaY A S S dell" and it runs very hot (my video card is the hottest part of the comp 47-54C) and i want to know if i could somehow hack the mobo and increase the fan speed or if theres someway to increase it inside the computer.

because i have 3 bays open in the front and 4 pci slots open in the back my whole room heats up...
__________________

__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Those temps are fine. There's really no point in doing this, your gonna make case super loud for nothing. The computer was built that way and I don't think Dell is going to ship a computer that's going to overheat on you. And to prove my point, your temps are fine If you really want you can always download speedfan and use that.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

speedfan does not work with my fan.. i want my fan speed increased i can deal with the noise on my own
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 12:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

speedfan is only able to change the speeds of fans connected to the mobo...so if its directly to the psu.. sorry but you cant change it.
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 12:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

is there a way to connect it to the mobo somehow? how about manually?
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 12:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

I don't know what the Dell Mobos look like, but can't you buy a third party fan, switch it whichever fan that you want to, and connect it ot the motherboard/powersupply? Like the guy before me said, If you can't connect it to the mobo, you probably have to do a hardware related change to control speed (fan control, maybe? I dunno much about them). But if it's third party, at least you know how much air it's moving and that it probably will cool down which ever computer part more than the dell stock fan.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 01:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

i do not think you can change the speed of fan in your situation. you can probably add more fans. (or replace the fan w/ more powerful one) but its gonna be manual adjustment. means you buy switch/fan controller and you turn it on/off when you need it to be on manualy. so it is not gonna be connected to your mobo at all. but by all means, dell is not supposed to be OC or overheat. and you have ok temp....so what you are going to do is waste of money and time but its your comp and your choice.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 05:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
Default

yeah dude, those temps for your gpu are good.
Travis18 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 06:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

the stock fan is plugged into the mobo


apparrently my temps arent good because when i play css for about 2 hours my comp shuts off, which is probably becasue my video card doesnt even have a cooling fan.. i want to increase my fan speed so i dont have that problem. (also i can overclock my video card alittle more hehehe..
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 07:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I wouldn't OC your video card if it doesn't even have a fan.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.