Increasing laptop wifi power output - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2007, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default Increasing laptop wifi power output

I was wondering, with all this overclocking and voltage increases, is there a way to increase the output power and range of your wireless beyond 100%? I am sure there has to be some hack out there that allows you to change voltages and i was wondering if anyone had come across anything like that. Let me know.
__________________

__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Increasing laptop wifi power output

yes, but it usually involves DIY and lots of tin-foil.
__________________

__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Increasing laptop wifi power output

cantennas. its easier to use a desktop card, or one of those pcmcia cards because they have a removable antenna. basically you just make a better one. A popular hack is with pringles cans and is very simple. google cantenna.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default Re: Increasing laptop wifi power output

I was aware of the type of things u can add such as cantennas and watnot, but i am talking about actually going into the power settings of the wireless card and forcing it to broadcast at a higher wattage. I am sure it would void warrenties and probally eventually kill your wireless card, but i am curious.
__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Apple Laptop Question...(wifi) Millenniumtiger Laptops and Notebooks 1 07-06-2007 10:40 PM
Wifi laptop issues GwaiLong Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 06-24-2007 12:07 AM
power of a laptop zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-30-2007 01:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.