Increase minimum clock speed in laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2007, 11:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Increase minimum clock speed in laptop

How do I increase the minimum clock speed in my Dell Inspiron 2200. CPU is Pentium M 1.6GHz 400 FSB. used CPU-Z and it always clocks at 600MHz the minimum setting in BIOS
__________________

jeffmorse is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 01:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Increase minimum clock speed in laptop

That may be one of those cpu idling features. When the cpu is idle it will bring the clock speed on the cpu down...

Put the cpu under some sort of load, multi task or something thenopen cpu-z while doing so.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Increase minimum clock speed in laptop

Thanks for the tip. I did run in safe mode and found that it ran at full speed; any thoughts? I would think safe mode would put the least load on. Is there any way to modify the bios to change the minimum? I have flashed it with the latest update.
jeffmorse is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Increase minimum clock speed in laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmorse View Post
Thanks for the tip. I did run in safe mode and found that it ran at full speed; any thoughts? I would think safe mode would put the least load on. Is there any way to modify the bios to change the minimum? I have flashed it with the latest update.
Why do you want to increase the minimum clockspeed? When it is necessary the CPU will jump up the multiplier.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Increase minimum clock speed in laptop

I have not been able to get the machine to run above the minimum; under load it stays at 600MHz. I am just about ready to abandon it and go with another faster machine.
jeffmorse is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Increase minimum clock speed in laptop

something is wrong with speedstep then. Try this program to manually set speedstep profiles. It's a great program.

SpeedswitchXP
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Increase minimum clock speed in laptop

Also try installing these drivers first to see if thats the problem.

http://support.dell.com/support/topi...up&file=149851
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 11:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Increase minimum clock speed in laptop

Thanks; I did both fixes and the speedswitchxp worked as advertised. Thanks for your help.

regards,
Jeffmorse
jeffmorse is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 11:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Increase minimum clock speed in laptop

glad it worked
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU Core Clock Speed? AuThoRitY Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 19 08-27-2007 02:46 PM
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM
Will I get in trouble if I increase my net speed? Ioanni Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-28-2007 10:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.