Improving my PC - CHEAPLY! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2005, 10:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default Improving my PC - CHEAPLY!

Hey,

Here's the specs for my computer:

-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW

What do you think my best bet is to get the most improvement out of the least amount of money? I'm looking to spend about 100 bucks.

I have access to an indoor place where people go to dump their old computers, so I can get all the old parts I want. What would yield the most improvement?

I use it mostly for browsing. I often keep 20-30 browser windows open. I run all my RAM at 333 rather than 400 because it's completely stable that way, so I can leave my windows open for weeks at a time. I also play games like simcity 4, but my vid card is adequate for my uses.

So what do you guys think?
__________________

__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 10:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

thats a pretty nice setup.
i suggest you upgrade:
video card
ram
or get better cooling
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

I'll certainly upgrade my cooling with old fans from that place, but I'm not sure if my PS can handle it. I remember there was a link to see how much power your system took... youd select all the components... do you know where that is?
__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 10:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I say you need a better video card. If you could get a 6600 GT, then that would help alot. I dont see you finding, nor wanting to find a used 6600 GT. But a eVGA 6600 GT would be great. Of course thats more then 100$, but you cant do much with 100$.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 11:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

you can sell your previous video card, and get the 6600gt like Codeine said. it will be very useful
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 12:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

he dont need a VIDEOCARD!!!!! And your power supply will be enough for those extra fans(430W linkworld [pos] and it has 7 fans hooked up to it)
comrad is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 01:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

Id get better cooling on the cpu and oc it
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 01:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

more ram or faster ram might be good
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 07:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by knuckle50
I remember there was a link to see how much power your system took... youd select all the components... do you know where that is?

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-21-2005, 01:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Looking at what you use the computer for, I would upgrade to 1gb RAM. I think that would be your best use of money at this point. If you get into more demanding games then a new video card would be the next move.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.