Im in trouble now - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 09:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

I use that to get nasty old thermal paste off of old heatsinks. It dosent hurt the chips but how am i supposed to get the acetone on the super glue if the heatsink is in the way?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 11-26-2005, 09:14 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 54
Default

tilt the card, and put it around the base of the HS and let it run down onto it?
might work..
__________________

__________________
P4 3.00Ghz/HT 1Mb Prescott OC\'ed to 3.50Ghz
ASUS P4S800-MX
1024Mb DDR 400 PC3200 [2x512mb]
Western Digital 80Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 160Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 200Gb 7200rpm
Nvidia Geforce 6200 256Mb
LiteOn 12x DVD + R/RW
480W PSU
JamesR is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 09:16 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

It is thin enough to slip between the heatsink/chip if you have enough on there over time..... But you will have to let the card dry out for a day or two...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 10:10 PM   #24 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Well, if im sending it back would it matter if alot of the chips are cracked? Nubius said he sent back his 5700LE broke in half i believe.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 11-26-2005, 11:28 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to dms0813
Default

should be fine
dms0813 is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 11:54 PM   #26 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Well as long as its fine and i can send it back i wont need a card to replace it w/. I will replace it soon though hopefully.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:57 PM   #27 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Now im really in trouble. My 5600ultra decided to die as well and i have 2 LANs coming up this month. Do you think they would RMA the both of them? I have the warranty on both cards as well as the original stuff that came w/ them. (Matter of fact i have them un-opened as well)
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.