im a total absolute newb. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2005, 12:18 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well nubioso would my way work as long as he know the soket intel chip buys a new mobo ATX and a Case for ATX I believe that this will work am i correct?
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:37 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

yes would it work as long as i got a mobo that works with my procesor and is atx?

also wut is the socket? is it like the higher # the higher performance or is it like a diffrent format for Diffrent computers?
__________________

rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:42 AM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Socket is the white well umm...socket..that the CPU fits in..they have to be the same.

Should work with a new mobo...the CPU's aren't dell specific that I know of
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 02:38 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

yea that's what i thought
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 02:58 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

all cpus after like p2 are ATX.... atx is the auto shut down thign... u know with like old comps where its lke its now safe to turn ur comp off... well all new computers are atx so there should be no problems.... but if u wana be safe just ring up DELL n confirm
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 09:20 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

ok i think i will call them because the only thing i dont no is wut socket i have.
rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 09:35 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

Sockets can be worked out by the processor type and speed. Its pretty much always going to be accurate - Socket 478 will be a Pentium 4, so will 775 - Socket A is Athlon I believe (Athlon XP?). Just give us your processor and as much info as you can about it and I'm sure one of us will tell you the socket. The mobo might have it labled somewhere on the actual board printed in tiny letters around the processor/heatsink.
rememberme is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 09:44 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

ok im pretty shure it says its a pentium 4;

Processor
Manufacturer Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.00GHz
Clock Speed 2GHz

Processor
Clock Speed 2GHz

Memory
Available Memory 67.80 %
Page File Size 1878.1Mb
Available Page File 88.69 %
Virtual Memory 2645.1Mb
Available Virtual Memory 82.63 %
Memory Slot 1 [DIMM_A] 512Mb
Memory Slot 2 [DIMM_B] 256Mb

Memory
Memory Slot 1 [DIMM_A] 512Mb
Memory Slot 2 [DIMM_B] 256Mb

Memory

Memory

Network Card
Adapters Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection - Packet Scheduler Miniport

Storage
Drive Type Drive Size Total Available Space Used Space
C: NTFS 55.86Gb 30.60Gb 25.26Gb
D:

Storage

Hardware
Type Description
DVD/CD-ROM Drives TEAC DVD+RW DV-W58E
HL-DT-ST DVD-ROM GDR8163B
Disk Drives IOMEGA ZIP 250
WDC WD600BB-75CAA0 55.87Gb
Display Adapters RADEON 9200 SERIES 128Mb
RADEON 9200 SERIES - Secondary 128Mb
Floppy Disk Drives (Standard floppy disk drives) Floppy disk drive
IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers Intel(r) 82801DB Ultra ATA Storage Controller-24CB
Primary IDE Channel
Secondary IDE Channel
Keyboards Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mice and Other Pointing Devices PS/2 Compatible Mouse
Monitors Default Monitor - (Standard monitor types)
Default Monitor - (Standard monitor types)
Sound Devices Creative SB Live! Series (WDM)
USB Controllers Intel(r) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C2
Intel(r) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C4
Intel(r) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C7
Intel(r) 82801DB/DBM USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller - 24CD

Software
Name Version
McAfee Firewall 3.02.1029
WebFldrs XP 9.50.6513
Windows Media Encoder 9 Series 9.00.2980
McAfee VirusScan 6.0.2
Adobe Reader 7.0 7.0.0
Adobe Reader Japanese Fonts 7.00.000
DVDDec 2.2.0.0
MSN Messenger 6.2 6.2.0205
MMC85 8.5.0.0

Software
rcsavageboy is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 12:26 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well go to www.cpuid.com download cpu-z if you want and that should help you as well by telling how fast it is and what soket
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 01:25 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 221
Default

ok i dl'ed the program and its pretty kool to see all this stuff. but where will it tell me my socket?
__________________

rcsavageboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.