I'm dying here - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2005, 01:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Unhappy I'm dying here

I can't seem to go past 207Mhz in the FSB and the multiplier locks at 11x... what can I do?
here's my setup (sorry for the extra info, but I just copied and pasted):

Case:

* Thermaltake Xaser V
* Daimler V5420A
* Coolermaster Real Power(RS-450-ACLY)
* Fan Speed Control Knobs
* Side Panel Security Lock
* 3-way Front Panel Lock
* Thermaltake Silent Tower HeatPipe Cooling
* Thermaltake Giant III Extreme VGA Cooler

Monitors

* Hitachi CML175B DVI 17" 1280x1024
* LG Flatron L1715S 17" 1280x1024

Keyboard

* Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro

Mouse

* Logitech MX510 5.8MPixels/s
* Xtrac Ripper XL Mousepad

Motherboard

* MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
* Nvidia nForce3 Ultra Chipset
* Dual Gigabit Ethernet
* 4 Sata - 2 IDE - Raid 0,1
* 7.1 Channel Audio
* 8 USB 2.0 - 2 IEEE 1394 Firewire Ports

HD

* Western Digital Raptor - 10,000 rpm - 8MB Cache - 74GB
* Maxtor DiamonMax10 - 7,200rpm - 16MB Cache - 300GB

DVD RW

* Pioneer Dual Layer DVD +/- R/W - 16X

RAM

* Corsair TWINX2048-3200Pro
* 2 x 1024MB DDR400 XMS3200

Processor

* AMD 3500+ Newcastle (939)

Video

* ASUS Radeon X800Pro TVD
* Bios Modded a X800xt Platinum Edition
* 256MB DVI + VGA
* Svideo - HDTV Compatible
* Core 520MHz - Memory 1120MHz

Audio

* Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
__________________

robertotrevino is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 01:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

msi sucks for ocing. hate to say it because my new system has one. that may be why. if you go past 207 do you start to get problems? what are they?
__________________

20mm is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 01:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Default

the computer won't boot and then resets to 201Mhz... then it boots
robertotrevino is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

hmmm....what are the temps at?
20mm is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

actually before my PC crashed (no literally fell to the floor) i had an MSI NEO2 and it was the shiznat w/ my 3500+ winchester. i think its your cpu not the board.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

did you oc well with the msi p.p.?
20mm is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

If it's a regular AGP based board...then you have to make sure your AGP/PCI busses are locked at 66:33 otherwise your FSB won't go very far.

Also if you aren't using a memory divider, then your RAM is being overclocked as well. Either use the memory divider and underclock the RAM below 200 so when you raise the FSB the RAM will be raising up back to stock levels, or stabelize your RAM by adding more DIMM voltage and loosening timings.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

Quote:
did you oc well with the msi p.p.?
yes i did. i used a divider like Nubius said and my buses where locked. so i got pretty far until my computer hit the sack. i was also using an AquariusIII as well so that helped.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

oh okay nvm anything i said then i think nubius hit it right on the head like he always does.
20mm is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

its hard to forget abou tlocking the buses and ram when OCing. its a common mistake for everybody. i know i did it. cant always be perfect.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.