IHS Removed - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2006, 10:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

yeah I wouldn't bother removing the IHS unless I could afford to take a burn...and I suppose I sort of could since I still do have a 3200+ to use, BUT I really don't want to go back to single core

Plus like with your results I don't think it would effect CPU overclock all that much IMO and the only thing it would really benefit is temperature which are fine on my CPU (I think my load temps are around 45C)...definetely something I'll try someday but not until I have a solid income that can support something like that

Quote:
I've got a 0551 opty 165 and it's on the "AVOID" list at XS with this particular steppings. XS lists it as 2.7-2.75 at 1.55v and that's exactly what I'm doing.
Still don't believe that's entirely correct since also pretty much I got the same results as you and I have one of the better steppings...and I'm positive 0551s supposedly have the better memory controllers if I remember correctly

http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/s...d.php?t=252381

Like I've told you many times though 1.8Ghz > 2.7GHz is 50% overclock which I personally am fine with
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 12:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to specialblend218
Default

ALRIGHT!!! CPU PORN!!!

As usual Nekkid is good. I think I'm going to have to rewire your case for you one of these days.


Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
The cpu can't be under room temp, so it may be 30 in there... (well it could be.) and ontop of that, the Opteron's don't have a accurate CPU temp probe.
Here is something to think about.

"You shouldn't even ask what someone else's temps are. This is one of the biggest problems i see in forums. YOUR temps are not even accurate relative to your own system, much less someone else’s. Let me elaborate. Just because your board reads 41C does not mean that if the temps drop 5C in real life the board will read 36C. Motherboards are not "absolutely accurate", nor are they "relatively" accurate. This is even worse with in-socket monitoring while watercooling. It is quite possible for the area around the socket to heat up to 50-60C, and influence the temperature measurements of the in-socket thermistor."

-Greenman
__________________

__________________
www.revelationlan.com Lan Gaming in Southern California!!!
specialblend218 is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 05:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
hey for protecting the SMD components on the pcb try some silicon or conformal coating, that might be going a bit overboard but you could use it and throw on a peltier :/ that oughta keep temps down for you. i would put some small foam/rubber pads on the corners of the pcb that are the same height as the die like on the old athlon xp's just to protect it from the waterblock.
The eletrical tape does fine protecting the little components. Don't want to bother with silicon or conformal coating. Electrical tape is easily removed. Also there is no point in messing with a peltier. They aren't worth the trouble and the insane power requirements.

Also that electrical tape is thick enough to act as crush pads.

Quote:
Those temps seem high for liquid cooling. Especially a system like that. With my 3000 @ 2.54GHz my full load is 36*C on a Bigwater SE.
Well a couple things you need to remember.

1 is that I said I'm pretty sure that this temp monitor is just completely way off which is generally the case. I don't think theres a truly accurate monitor out there that's built into computers yet which really is kind of sad.

2. You can't compare a single core processor like yours to a dual core processor like mine. Dual cores are obviously going to run quite a bit hotter.

but yeah, overall I'm quite certain this temp is just way off because I'm seeing dual core owners on air getting WAY cooler temperatures. Granted it's pretty hot in my room especially with summer coming in this desert, buuuut yeah those temps are ridiculous.

Quote:
Like I've told you many times though 1.8Ghz > 2.7GHz is 50% overclock which I personally am fine with
Yeah I know, it's nothing to scough at, but it annoys the crap out of me considering my venice sucked balls and now, yet again, I get a week right after the supposed good weeks. I want my 2.8 dang it! I wanted 2.8GHz with my venice way back when, it's like a freakin curse.

Quote:
yeah I wouldn't bother removing the IHS unless I could afford to take a burn...and I suppose I sort of could since I still do have a 3200+ to use, BUT I really don't want to go back to single core
Well I already shipped out my 3200+ so I had nothing lol. I was fully prepared to glue that IHS back on and send it in haha.

Just dont be a retard, be careful and take your time doing it and all should be well. Take precautions against the transistors and stuff like that.

I only tested it a little last night, but I'm not sure if 2.8 will be realized =/ Seems like 2.75 will be it's limit which is exactly how they are listing this particular one at XS.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 09:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

ahhh Now you really getting me wanting to do it :sigh:


But I dont have watercooling.....and I dont have the money for it... I suspect My CPU Fan would probably crush it....


Nice watercooling

that case is HUGE what is it?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 09:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

i think the fan wouldnt even touch the die. because the IHS takes up the space between the die and the HSF. or maybe im way wrong
The General is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:34 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well anyway good work on removing the IHS, i MAY do it on my x2 if i get watercooling but i really could not affor to lose my cpu so its doubtful. i am going to pull the IHS off the K6-II i've been messing around though and who knows i may get 500-600mhz out of it when i'm done
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 05:36 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

General, you are right, you have to mod fans to fit onto the CPU, which I have no idea how poeple do it. You need to have screw fittings really to get a good contact between the CPU core and heatsink.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 06:39 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
that case is HUGE what is it?
Some annoyingly heavy thermaltake case. Xaser V WinGO or something crazy like that.

Quote:
i think the fan wouldnt even touch the die. because the IHS takes up the space between the die and the HSF. or maybe im way wrong
The core is higher than anything else on the chip. So naturally the block is going to make contact with it. That's why people advise putting electrical tape on the transistors to act as a pad and prevent shorting out but the block doesn't technically rest on it anyway.

Quote:
General, you are right, you have to mod fans to fit onto the CPU, which I have no idea how poeple do it
You can find a few suggestions at www.dfi-street.com
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 08:30 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry for the thread jacking nubius but i thought i'd mention today i came home and i was bored....so i decided to play with razor blades. i took the IHS off the crappy old K6-II i keep mentioning. temps have dropped by about 8-9 degrees and i can now overclock it from 380 to 500mhz
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 11:32 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

not really hijacked since it pertains to the same thing.

You shoulda got some pics. Even if it's a crappy obsolete piece, pics are a must

Crazy to think that I've overclocked my CPU twice as far as that old CPU's total speed even after it's overclocked.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.