If I do'd it... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2005, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default If I do'd it...

Wife might kill me, but I just bought an ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB AGP card for 315.00 plus shipping!

Oh... and BTW... I was playing around and got my new confuser up to 3.86 before it died on me and I had to reset everything. SO now I'm sitting at 3.67 comfortably and stable. I'm gonna D/L that Prime95 and see how good it or not... I'll let ya know...

Craig :bald:
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 04:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Shoulda paid like $30 less and gone with the X800XL, woulda outperformed the Pro
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Shoulda paid like $30 less and gone with the X800XL, woulda outperformed the Pro
My thoughts exactly.

Run some benches though, I wanna see how it compares to somewhat displeasing performance the other x800 Pro owners here have experienced.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 01:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Shoulda paid like $30 less and gone with the X800XL, woulda outperformed the Pro
Yes, but I have to consider shipping for everything I buy. COst of shipping to not only Germany, but to military as well usually kills me. Most of the stuff I bought from newegg was on an average of about 40.00 to 50.00 US just for that! ANother reason I do not like living overseas. But hey... Since I'm not the super web designer, and digital guru yet. I think I'll be happy with it. At least for a little while.

But I will do some benches and let you know how it comes out.

Craig:bald:
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 01:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I just benched my AMD system on 3dmark05. AMD64 3000+, 1gig corsair xms pc-3200, powercolor x800 xl, gigabyte triton nforce4.
Everything stock score a 4820. I'm impressed. Going to have to overclock a little and see if I can bring the score up much more.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 02:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

haven't you heard about beedubaya's (SP?) rant about his x800pro?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 03:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
haven't you heard about beedubaya's (SP?) rant about his x800pro?
Nope I haven't. I guess he hates his as well???? What can I say... I guess I have to make some bad choices in life in order to learn right? Next time I'll know and do some better research first. Thanks for ya'lls inputs...

Craig
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 03:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

I belive it is because he has a VIA chipset, bigtimeballer had one too and had problems. Anyway, let us know how it goes mate
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 05:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Everything stock score a 4820.
hmm I saw a guy posting 5400K in 3dmark05 with everything stock, buuuut I'm not 100% on his hardware but I know it wasn't like a FX-55 or some outrageous CPU like that.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 09:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Well from my other post about my new confuser. I've got an INTEL 3.4 Prescott (HT) OC'd to 3.67, and right now a FX5200 plus video card. SO I think that the new one I have ordered will be a MUCH better improvement. and since the X800 pro is a 256MB AGP, me'thinks it will work on my mobo. Once I get it here and installed I'll play with it and give ya'll marks. Besides right now I'm playing around until I can build my next one. Oh and BTW... My mobo has an 865 chipset and looking into it, it most likely will work on it.

PPS and the cost was 315.00 WITH shipping not including...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.