IDLE temps too high? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2007, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default IDLE temps too high?

I have artic cooling freezer 7 pro installed on my E6420, and I also applied AS5 on it, and my idle temps is around 42C. When I'm playing World Of Warcraft it goes up to 53-55 degrees. Is this too high with artic freezer 7 pro?

And also I only overclocked it 25% (2.66GHZ).

Because of the temps too high I can't overclock over 2.66GHZ, I thought Artic Freezer 7 Pro is good for overclocking.
__________________

badboyzz77 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: IDLE temps too high?

50's c on load? thats fine
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: IDLE temps too high?

As long as it's under 60-65c on load, it's all good.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 11:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: IDLE temps too high?

well obviously there is a difference between load and world of warcraft lol, try running a stress test like orthos to see if the temps are stable. I would say yes those are unusually high temps, 1. how much as5 did you put on? 2. is the heatsink fan aligned with the other case fans, ie are they both blowing/pulling in the same direction not opposite.
Raknor is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: IDLE temps too high?

yeah the fans are align in the same direction, I put a line in the CPU with AS5 at first then later I took the HS out, I saw the AS5 wasn't covering all the CPU so I put a little more in it. When running Orthos in the beginning it gets hot around 57-60 degrees. When I tired to overclock it to 2.80GHZ it would get over 62 degrees and the comp frozed up.
badboyzz77 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: IDLE temps too high?

Quote:
Originally Posted by badboyzz77 View Post
yeah the fans are align in the same direction, I put a line in the CPU with AS5 at first then later I took the HS out, I saw the AS5 wasn't covering all the CPU so I put a little more in it. When running Orthos in the beginning it gets hot around 57-60 degrees. When I tired to overclock it to 2.80GHZ it would get over 62 degrees and the comp frozed up.
the as5 doesnt have to cover the cpu, just the middle part of it
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: IDLE temps too high?

Quote:
Originally Posted by badboyzz77 View Post
When I tired to overclock it to 2.80GHZ it would get over 62 degrees and the comp frozed up.
That is most likely a ram issue, on one horrible occasion my comp ran at 70c on load, it didnt freeze or crash
Raknor is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: IDLE temps too high?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raknor View Post
That is most likely a ram issue, on one horrible occasion my comp ran at 70c on load, it didnt freeze or crash
yeah problably, because I did changed the multiplier on the ram
badboyzz77 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Thumbs down Re: IDLE temps too high?

IMO, I blame your new hsf. About a month ago, I installed the same hsf and all it did was increase my idle temps from 41c to 48c idle. I reapplied as5 2x and temps never dropped.
I sold the hsf on ebay and got my money back. I get better temps using stock hsf and oc'd at 3.4ghz.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: IDLE temps too high?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nu2duo View Post
IMO, I blame your new hsf. About a month ago, I installed the same hsf and all it did was increase my idle temps from 41c to 48c idle. I reapplied as5 2x and temps never dropped.
I sold the hsf on ebay and got my money back. I get better temps using stock hsf and oc'd at 3.4ghz.
Same here, I reapplied it about 2 times too and yeah stock cooler runs a little bit cooler than that Artic Cooling, because the fan runs faster on the stock cooler and it's a lot louder.
__________________

badboyzz77 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800GTS temps??? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 07-12-2007 01:30 AM
hard drive temps high siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-27-2007 10:13 AM
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.