idle temp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2007, 07:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default idle temp

when you say my idle temp is: 35 degrees (for example) do you get that from the BIOS or from windows? i always use core temp from windows but im wondering if you use the BIOS to get your idle temp
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 07:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: idle temp

you can get it from windows task manger i think not sure thou
__________________

__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 07:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: idle temp

No, CPU temperatures are not in task manager.

I use Windows.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 07:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: idle temp

thanks
Nick is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: idle temp

You can get idle temps from both the BIOS or from the Windows environment. The BIOS though, would be the most accurate.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: idle temp

but wouldnt the BIOS temp be lower as there are no apps running?
Nick is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: idle temp

The bios is going to be "idle". Speedfan is roughly 15 degrees off for most users and coretemp seems to be pretty accurate for most. I know coretemp matches what my bios shows me on my rig.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: idle temp

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926
but wouldnt the BIOS temp be lower as there are no apps running?
That's what the idle temperature means. When the computer is not really doing anything, it's idle.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: idle temp

so it would be better to get it from the BIOS not coretemp?
Nick is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: idle temp

Most of us I'm assuming, get the idle temperature from Coretemp. Coretemp is pretty accurate in my opinion. And it's easier that way, so you don't have to restart your computer every time, to check the idle temperature.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
60C for motherboard temp good? advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 07-22-2007 10:21 PM
Temp questions for my Video Card zetahammy New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-14-2007 10:23 AM
CPU Temp low 80s on load and 50-68 on idle EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 21 05-28-2007 09:35 AM
LED TEMP or SPEEDFAN TEMP??? jeremy4719 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-30-2007 12:38 AM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.