i5-760 OC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2011, 01:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: i5-760 OC

Thanks for that! Much appreciated!

I have 2x2 GB Ram, so can I just use 1.2v for the IMC??
__________________

__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 02:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: i5-760 OC

I just did some testing and it wasn't stable (pass 3 runs of burn test @ std. stress) @ 4 GHz until I set the vcore to 1.40v. That is higher than I am comfortable with...I adjusted the IMC from 1.2v up to 1.4v. and the DRAM to 1.65v, but there was no difference.

The temps reached as high as 73*C, which isn't too bad for that voltage..??

I might have to settle for 3.8 GHz, but I will wait to hear what you guys have to say.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 09:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: i5-760 OC

73c is quite normal for air cooling and that voltage actually. I wouldn't mess with the RAM to much unless you absolutely want to run 2000mhz. What you can do to keep your RAM at stock is lower the RAM multi so you can raise the bclk to up the CPU frequency.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 01-17-2011, 03:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: i5-760 OC

I seem to be somewhat stable at 4 GHz now with the vcore @ 1.325. In my previous attempts, I forgot to set the Load-Line Calibration to Enabled.

Only thing is, my max temps reach 79*C. Hopefully I can lower the vcore and get the temps down. While they might be OK, they are a bit over my comfort zone.

EDIT: I blue screened at 1.31250 volts, so now I know my lower limit.

Also, what should I bet setting the IMC volts at? Maybe I have it set wrong...
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-17-2011, 10:12 AM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: i5-760 OC

Since I always kept mine at auto I really don't know. Later today I will be getting my second 465 so I will be shooting for 4.4ghz on the CPU with a redone water loop. I'll take the IMC off auto and let you know my results. (4.4ghz for me = 2200mhz RAM on 2000 kit)

80c is a bit high for that voltage. I think you may want to settle for 3.8ghz to lower the temp unless you have an attitude like me........which is meh. (can't say what I really wanna say)
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 01-17-2011, 12:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: i5-760 OC

Yeah, I might have to. So the CPU at 3800 and the RAM at 1600 with a CPU ratio of 19 is OK?
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-17-2011, 01:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: i5-760 OC

Alright well I'm rock solid at 3.8 GHz with max temps of 67*C (15 passes of burn test @ max stress).

Vcore: 1.25
IMC: 1.16
DRAM: 1.50

I'm not sure why I can't hit 4 GHz if I can hit 3.8 GHz @ 1.25v, but 3.8 isn't so bad.

If my chip just isn't meant for 4 GHz, then I will be happy with a 1 GHz increase...

Edit: I had to bump Vcore to 1.26250 and the IMC to 1.20.
After more testing, it crashed at the previous voltage.

I still only hit max temps of 70*C.
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-17-2011, 04:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,303
Default Re: i5-760 OC

Some chips just have a wall that requires alot of voltage for a small jump. This was a problem I had with my old X2 4200+ on S939 which I never could cross due to cooling issues. You could probably do 4ghz with a better cooler, but better to keep temps safe.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 01-17-2011, 04:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: i5-760 OC

I guess I can't complain with 3.8 GHz :P
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-17-2011, 05:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: i5-760 OC

Is it safe to say that I'm stable?

Vcore: 1.26250
IMC: 1.20
DRAM: 1.50

Thanks guys!

__________________

__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.