i5-760 OC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2011, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default i5-760 OC

Hi all,

I just finished building this PC this morning and am in the process of OC'ing. I installed a Cooler Master Hyper 212 CPU Cooler to keep the temps down...

I would just like some information on safe temps for this chip, and also, how do you adjust the voltage?? There are many different voltage options in BIOS. What is the stock voltage? CPU-Z shows 1.22V for the 'Core Voltage'.

For now, I just OC'ed using a preset option that my bios had. In this case, I set it to 'Crazy-3.36G' lol.

Here is a SS of Core Temp + Intel Burn Test.

Thank you!
__________________

__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-13-2011, 09:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: i5-760 OC

Here are some settings that were adjusted when I selected the pre-set OC:

Fixed Voltage: 1.25
IMC Volts: 1.40
DRAM Volts: 1.62
CPU PLL = 1.80 (Std)
PCH Volts 1.05 (Std)

I have no idea what these mean, but do they sound right for the CPU @ 3.37 GHz and the Ram @ 1600 MHz?
__________________

__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 05:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: i5-760 OC

What is the model of the G.Skill RAM? Most requires 1.65v to run.

Good temps are around 60-65c load in the upper 3ghz range but if you get into the 70s that's fine. Just don't go over 80c and you should be good on air.

Max safe voltage for the i5 is 1.45v, but with that chip you shouldn't need anymore than 1.4v to reach 4ghz.

IMC can stay stock which I think is around 1.1 but I'm not sure. I run the UD3R GB board and I keep all settings auto besides RAM and VCore. Auto being it raises the voltage whenever the board sees fit.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 11:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: i5-760 OC

as an added bit about leaving settings on auto, if you find that it's getting unstable and raising the ram voltage/vcore doesn't work then if you want a higher clock start fiddling with the other voltages, as auto, for obvious reasons, isn't the most exact setting and could be holding your OC back.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: i5-760 OC

You posted a screenshot which is good. But I can't read it which is bad. Try reading this thread please.
Screenshot Tutorial
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 12:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: i5-760 OC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
as an added bit about leaving settings on auto, if you find that it's getting unstable and raising the ram voltage/vcore doesn't work then if you want a higher clock start fiddling with the other voltages, as auto, for obvious reasons, isn't the most exact setting and could be holding your OC back.
Seems to work fine for me, but he doesn't have my board either. PLL and PCH can be left alone for a simple core overclock. Only thing extra after that is QPI voltage which shouldn't need to be touched either unless he is overclocking his RAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 12:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: i5-760 OC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
You posted a screenshot which is good. But I can't read it which is bad. Try reading this thread please.
Screenshot Tutorial
Can you see it if you right click -> view image? The SS shows my CPU @ 3.37 GHz with max temps of 61*C (Maximum load on IntelBurnTest for 5 passes).

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
What is the model of the G.Skill RAM? Most requires 1.65v to run.

Good temps are around 60-65c load in the upper 3ghz range but if you get into the 70s that's fine. Just don't go over 80c and you should be good on air.

Max safe voltage for the i5 is 1.45v, but with that chip you shouldn't need anymore than 1.4v to reach 4ghz.

IMC can stay stock which I think is around 1.1 but I'm not sure. I run the UD3R GB board and I keep all settings auto besides RAM and VCore. Auto being it raises the voltage whenever the board sees fit.
Thanks for the info. On the G.Skill box, it says 1.5v, so I'm guessing that is stock. I only want to use the Ram @ 1600 MHz, no more. Without any adjustment in BIOS, it runs at 1333 MHz.
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 02:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: i5-760 OC

Right now I am running solid at 3.37 GHz with max temps of 59*C under maximum load.

Vcore: 1.25
IMC: 1.16
DRAM: 1.50

I tried 3.8 GHz with:

1.30
1.20
1.50

and it passed 3 runs of burn test, but I still don't feel right clocking it that high until I'm 100% sure I know what I am doing with voltages.
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-14-2011, 11:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: i5-760 OC

3.8 with a vcore of 1.3 is really good. You still got alot of room to go. Your RAM defaults to 1333 because of the bclk being 133.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-15-2011, 11:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: i5-760 OC

You should follow the directions I gave in this thread.
Novice OCer

You have 2000MHz ram but to be truthful, in order to run your memory at 2000MHz you'll end up losing cpu MHz's. And the problem is that you'll gain more performance from your i5 760 at 4GHz with a 1600MHz memory speed than you will by running the i5 760 at 3.8GHz with a 2000MHz memory speed.

While you may be able to run at 4GHz and 2000MHz, we need to start by getting you to 4GHz and 1600MHz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate
Set the:

Ai Tweaker

Ai Overclock Tuner to - Manual
CPU Ratio Setting - 20
Intel Speedstep - Disabled
Intel Turbo Mode - Disabled
Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode - Enabled
BCLK Frequency - 200
DRAM Frequency - 1066
QPI Frequency - Auto
DRAM Timing Control - (edited: for this post, try these settings 8-8-8-28-74 at 1.65v)
CPU Differential Amplitude - not sure, I think the higher the value, the smoother or cleaner the voltage signal will be. I would leave at Auto for now

CPU Clock Skew - Auto
CPU Voltage Mode - Fixed Voltage - 1.325 (this may need to go up but we really want it around the 1.30 - 1.325 range)

IMC Voltage - 1.3v (This is the Internal Memory Controller Voltage, because your using 8GB's and I'm assuming you have a 4x2GB setup, you'll probably need to set this higher than a 2x2GB setup. I would try 1.3v and maybe we can lower it.)

CPU PLL - Auto (we'll raise this if we have errors and adjusting the CPU volts has no effect)

PCH Voltage - Auto (Southbridge Voltage)
Load Line Calibration - Enabled
CPU Spread Spectrum - Auto
PCIE Spread Spectrum - Auto

Advanced
CPU Configuration

CPU Ratio Setting - 20
C1E Support - Disabled
Hardware Prefetcher - Enabled
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetcher - Enabled
Max CPUID - Disabled
Intel Virtualization Tech - Unless your using a program like Virtual PC you can Disable this.
CPU TM Function - Disabled
Execute Disable Bit - Enabled
Intel HT Technology - Enabled
Active Processor Cores - All
A20M - Disabled
Intel Speedstep Tech - Disabled
Intel Turbo Mode Tech - Disabled
Intel C-State Tech - Disabled
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.