I would like to overclock my Q6600 g0 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2011, 11:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: I would like to overclock my Q6600 g0

your chip has same vid as my old chip. which wasn't very good lol
i needed 1.35v to push for 3.2 ghz.
however I was using 4 sticks of ram, which is a lot more stressful for the north bridge than 2 sticks.
so you may or may not need to increase your voltage at all. just try and see how it goes.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-23-2011, 11:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: I would like to overclock my Q6600 g0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
your chip has same vid as my old chip. which wasn't very good lol
i needed 1.35v to push for 3.2 ghz.
however I was using 4 sticks of ram, which is a lot more stressful for the north bridge than 2 sticks.
so you may or may not need to increase your voltage at all. just try and see how it goes.
so should i start at default volts first? is doing it this route less likely to fry my processor than say overvolting it?

also did you have a cooler on it? and does that even matter for voltages?
__________________

Marketpantry is offline  
Old 07-24-2011, 12:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: I would like to overclock my Q6600 g0

why are you so scared?
you can put 1.5v in these chips with air cooling as long as you can keep the temperature in check. (although not recommended for 24/7 usage.)

just go with default voltage first and see how it goes.

edit:
the more I think about it, I think I may have needed 1.4v instead of the 1.35 I mentioned earlier. its either one of those. that was close to 2 years ago, my memory is fuzzy.

yes, I did have a cooler on my CPU.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-24-2011, 12:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: I would like to overclock my Q6600 g0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
why are you so scared?
you can put 1.5v in these chips with air cooling as long as you can keep the temperature in check. (although not recommended for 24/7 usage.)

just go with default voltage first and see how it goes.

edit:
the more I think about it, I think I may have needed 1.4v instead of the 1.35 I mentioned earlier. its either one of those. that was close to 2 years ago, my memory is fuzzy.

yes, I did have a cooler on my CPU.
I will be keeping it up for maybe 8 hours at a time on some days. ive never oced before so id really like to do with without entering the bios.
Marketpantry is offline  
Old 07-24-2011, 12:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: I would like to overclock my Q6600 g0

I've never heard of overclocking on intel systems without entering bios. so that's a moot point.
just change fsb to 400
multi to 8
that should put your ram at 1;1 so it's at nice and even 800 mhz
put 1.4v on cpu voltage

reboot.

edit:
by reboot i meant hit f10 to save changes and restart.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
q6600 Overclock problem jaydenakasha Overclocking and Modding 7 10-29-2008 06:27 PM
my 1st overclock on q6600 Skeeg Overclocking and Modding 15 08-09-2008 06:43 PM
Cannot overclock my q6600? Ric0h Overclocking and Modding 13 07-05-2008 01:00 PM
cannot overclock my q6600 anymore.. help :( enthusiast1917 Overclocking and Modding 10 04-28-2008 06:02 PM
Q6600 Overclock slvrstang Overclocking and Modding 17 11-09-2007 09:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.