I would like to disscuss about my comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2009, 04:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default I would like to disscuss about my comp

Ok guys im new to the forums and pretty much new the computer world well not computers but modifying them more less .

I just recently purchased a custom built computer to run games that i play and now like any other drug i want to learn how to improve what i have to run extremely well .

here are my specs i have to date .

Specs
System:
Microsoft Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service pack 2

Computer:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual
Core Processor 5000+
2.61 GHZ. 2.00 GB of RAM

And please tell me if this set up is good or bad and i would like to discuss any modifications i can do to it to run really pro .

And any information regarding my set up .

Thanks in advance .
__________________

Paul-R is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 04:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I would like to disscuss about my comp

Is this a prebuild ie Dell or Hp? If so what make and model?

What gpu do you have, and what psu?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 04:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: I would like to disscuss about my comp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
Is this a prebuild ie Dell or Hp? If so what make and model?

What gpu do you have, and what psu?
I believe it is neither this is a fully pieced together computer it has know dell or HP parts in it . Everything is branded and it has a alienware clear side case .
Paul-R is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 05:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I would like to disscuss about my comp

run cpuz to get the motherboard make and model.
CPUID
run gpuz to get the gpu info:
GPU-Z Video card GPU Information Utility

Open the case and get the make, model and wattage from the sticker on the psu.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 12:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: I would like to disscuss about my comp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul-R View Post
Ok guys im new to the forums and pretty much new the computer world well not computers but modifying them more less .

I just recently purchased a custom built computer to run games that i play and now like any other drug i want to learn how to improve what i have to run extremely well .

here are my specs i have to date .

Specs
System:
Microsoft Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service pack 2

Computer:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual
Core Processor 5000+
2.61 GHZ. 2.00 GB of RAM

And please tell me if this set up is good or bad and i would like to discuss any modifications i can do to it to run really pro .

And any information regarding my set up .

Thanks in advance .


if you paid more than $500-$600 for the tower than that is a bad deal.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 02:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 5
Default Re: I would like to disscuss about my comp

2GB of ram enough?
Blo0d5hot is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 02:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I would like to disscuss about my comp

2gb is plenty for xp. Sure it would be nice to have more but with a 32bot OS you can only ultilize 1gm more.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
built new comp, swapped in old HD, trying to get it to load windows... camosilver311 System Upgrades 21 03-07-2009 05:42 PM
New comp only start up wen clear CMOS denni0302 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 02-21-2009 06:47 AM
rebuilt socket 487 comp need help Blizz419 System Upgrades 9 10-14-2008 07:59 AM
Comp slows almost to a halt during long DL. rebnvodka Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-21-2008 12:47 AM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 07-27-2007 01:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.