I want to put a lock on my antec 900 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2009, 04:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default I want to put a lock on my antec 900

Does anyone have any ideas how this could be done? There are like these two holes in the back for like watercooling or something, and I think I can lock the entire rig to something with like a bicycle lock using that, but people could still just remove the side and steal components. I was thinking maybe drill a hole through the side of the case next to one of the holes and just put a regular combination lock on there, but I think the distance might be too far. And then, it has to be in place very securely because if the side can be moved half an inch it can be popped off enough for someone to get in there and steel stuff. Anyone have any better ideas?

The reason I'm looking to do this, is because I'm going to be going to college within 2 weeks. I guess my monitor could easily be taken, I don't think I could do anything about it .

Edit: I found this: Computer Case Lock (Cable Security) - Lock PC Case but I don't see how it works. Unless it is attached to something extremely tight, I don't know why they couldn't just twiste the wires and get it off.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I want to put a lock on my antec 900

With the lock device, i believe the bolt swivels around so as to not beable to undo the panel bolt.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: I want to put a lock on my antec 900

Hmmm, do you suppose a regular combination padlock would fit the cord as a locking mechanism? The one they have on this page: Computer Cable Lock T3 - Computer Security Cable - PC Security Cable only has 3 digits, meaning only 1000 combinations. Although I don't think a thief would stick around that long, if someone knew I was going home for the weekend, they could easily crack that. I don't know how they are claiming well over 1000 combinations. I would just prefer not to have a key.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec 900 questions kbaird Overclocking and Modding 11 12-08-2008 06:33 AM
FS: Antec 900 case mgcook Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 28 02-04-2008 09:15 PM
Antec 900 stock fans question MonkeyBusiness Overclocking and Modding 7 01-24-2008 06:12 PM
The Antec 900 csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 10 01-18-2008 10:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.