I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2008, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 60
Default I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

Actually, just kidding...

I'd be happy with 2.6!

This is my first time overclocking, and I have done my research, but there is so much information out there and a lot of it is contradictory.

What I have: E2180, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, 2 gb Crucial Ballistix Ram, 8600 gt, stock cooler, Antec 450 power supply.

I'm really only looking to overclock to 2.6, MAYBE 2.8 once I get 2.6 stable.

First off, should I just use the EasyTune5 software that comes with the motherboard, or should I do it directly in bios?

Does anyone have stable, SAFE settings for my setup to get this to 2.6?

Many thanks!
__________________

zabak80 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

No Chip is the same so you can't exactly duplicate settings, the best overclocking method is through the BIOS

first try to push the FSB to 260 from 200, then Prime95 test it (it should be stable) because 260x10 = 2600mhz

I don't recommend pushing past 2.6ghz without a better cooler (like an Arctic Freezer Pro 7)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

Based on my experience with my E2180 I would expect 2.6 to be stable with stock voltage but as Vernong said every chip is different. I have had my E2180 at 2.8ghz on stock cooling for a 3dmark06 run but I wouldn't run it like that 24/7.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 60
Default Re: I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

So put the FSB to 260 and the multilier to 10?

Keep voltage and everything else the same?
zabak80 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

Multiplier you can't change at all... 10x (well you can drop it to a min of 6... but don't do that) is the stock one...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

I run 2.9 24/7 on stock cooler. Put your fsb to 290, underclock your ram. These chips will most likely always do 2.8-2.9 stock vcore. Anything after that then consider yourself lucky. Why stop at 2.6 when you can have it at 2.8-2.9 on stock vcore.

Edit: I think you have to hit ctrl+f1 when you get into bios for your board. That might be for timings but nonetheless do it anyways. Make sure to set the right divider for your ram. If you have ddr2 800 try to keep as close to that. Unless you want to oc the ram too but thats a different story
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default Re: I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zabak80 View Post
Actually, just kidding...

I'd be happy with 2.6!

This is my first time overclocking, and I have done my research, but there is so much information out there and a lot of it is contradictory.

What I have: E2180, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, 2 gb Crucial Ballistix Ram, 8600 gt, stock cooler, Antec 450 power supply.

I'm really only looking to overclock to 2.6, MAYBE 2.8 once I get 2.6 stable.

First off, should I just use the EasyTune5 software that comes with the motherboard, or should I do it directly in bios?

Does anyone have stable, SAFE settings for my setup to get this to 2.6?

Many thanks!
I'm so happy you posted this. Tomorrow I'm going to try to OC for the 1st time also. I have the same MB as you and the same RAM, and the same video card. The only difference is I have an E2200 CPU and an Antec 500 PSU.
So please post your results as you figure things out.
XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 08:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

each chip is different as vernon said. like i have an e2200, but my VID is 1.325 so i can't take it past 2.6 on stock voltages, even though i should be able to hit 3 easily without voltage changes. but increase the FSB a bit, and test it, if its stable for at least a 3dmark06 run or an hour of orthos or something, then you can keep moving it up.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 09:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

so for example
my friend's Q6600 G0 is not the same as my Q6600 G0?
__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 09:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: I want to overclock to 7.4 mhz! Help Needed!

Correct prototype. Each CPU is different its like buying muffins you might get a mashed blue berry muffin or you might get a nice plump blue berry muffin. either way it still tastes the same its just a difference in shape.

its kinda like that.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 08:04 PM
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
AMD Athalon X2 4200+ - Help me OC burdenofproof Overclocking and Modding 5 01-08-2008 03:39 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.