I tightened up my cas latency and reconfirgured my settings.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2005, 08:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Size says 512mb so I'd assume he has 2x256 otherwise it'd say 1gb in dual channel
oh ok. i wasn;t sure if it was saying each stick was 512MB in dual or what. i suppose i could have looked at my CPU-Z...but blah..im lazy
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol I woulda looked in CPU-Z except it doesn't run on my moms laptop.

I could have been wrong though =P I was just taking a guess because I can't remember 100% but since that's not the screen where he selects the slots I figured it's showing the total RAM.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

You guys are right...it is the 256*2 pack....it is all newegg carries the LA's in for now...and yes I am definitely planning on using these with my 3000+winnie and msi mobo I will be gettin in the next few months.
__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

The thing that sucked about those tight settings is that it failed prime in a couple of min. so I had to back it down.
__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 03:32 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ahh that sucks, so it's not 2.5-3-3-3 you mean? Was about to say that's mighty insane.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:05 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I've never seen 2-3-3-3 before
that's some good RAM, which I feel is being limited by your CPU and/or motherboard

well, you usually find something is limiting your computer in some way
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 01:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

No doubt....I think it is the mobo and or processor limiting this....oh well i'm very happy with the memory and will be upgrading the mobo and processor to a 939 in the next couple of months anyways.
__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 02:29 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The motherboard would only be limiting how high of FSB you get, not so much the actual timings, with the exception that possibly more NB voltage is needed. The processor however, should be able to handle up to 250 no problem.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 08:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yo! I finally got my computer up and running and am able to test out the RAM. This is only the first day though so they need a little time to burn in, but they are doing pretty decent right off the bat.

Stock timings, 2-2-2-5 200MHz DDR400 I got approx 3000/2800 mb/sec

Right now I got em at 2-3-3-6 235MHz DDR470 and just got 3579/3343

Can't wait to really break these bad boys in
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 05:20 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

This is my latest attempt:

DDR500 - 250MHz - 2.5-3-3-8-1T 2.9v @ 3779/3495

I tried 255MHz and on one attempt it got past the bar swiping at the loading screen but rebooted, then I upped the cycle time, and it got into windows, but then gave me a blue screen soooo pretty much my only option right now is to do the voltage mod on the NB because it's at 1.7 and I'm pretty sure that'll help stability of the board if I can get it up to 1.9v (this time without frying my board =/ ) I should be able to get to 266.

Still decent though considering they've only been on a day and haven't really been broken in yet.

Gonna run prime95 right now and see if it's stable at 250, then I can work on re-attempting the voltage mod
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.