I tightened my RAM timings, but can't tell on Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2007, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default I tightened my RAM timings, but can't tell on Windows

Hi, my RAM timings were pretty high when I first built this system, at least 5-5-5-18. At least, I think they were, because everyone who bought Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 Dominator said you had to manually adjust it to 4-4-4-12.

Well, I did that. BIOS says 4-4-4-12, and I'm running Windows fine. But, I can't ever tell what any of my speeds are on Windows. For an example, on CPU-Z, I click the "Memory" tab, and the only thing it says is that I have 2048 MBytes. All of the other boxes are blank. Nobody else seems to have this problem. This same crap happened to me when I tried OCing my e6600. I couldn't tell if anything actually happened because CPU-Z would act the same way. Can someone tell me why CPU-Z is being stupid, or why I am being stupid?

I'm on a Gigabyte DS3 965p, using 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 Dominator.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

well i dont know whats up with cpu-z but what i do know is if you set the timings in the bios then they pretty much have no choice but to be those timings.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Yes, it's very very odd. Maybe I'll uninstall and try re-downloading it from another source. I checked my BIOS once again when I booted today, they were still 4-4-4-12.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.