I screwed up a game with ATI tool - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2005, 01:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default I screwed up a game with ATI tool

OK, I am gonna start off by saying that I have done a real dumb thing. Dont ask why I did this, or even thought about it,...cause I can't answer that.

Anyways, I was playing World of Warcraft and I decided to OC my vid card. I do this every once in a while jus for some extra performance. So, instead of quiting the game, I alt+tabbed out and opened ATI tool. With the game minimized, I proceeded with to OC to my normal, stable OC. I then closed ATI tool and re-entered WoW. When I got back in, the screen was all screwed up and it almost looked like the memory had overheated (weird colors, no snow, but it all was shaped from the middle of the screen, like a vortex or something). So anyways, I quit WoW and restarted it and ever thing was fine. But now, ever once inawhile, usually after the game loads something, it does it again. And when it screws up, I exit the game and Windows is messed up. So I have to restart to be able to see the screen properly. I figure I have to reinstall the game, but just wanna make sure. And anyways, I am home from school and the CDs are back at my apartment.

I am almost 100% sure it is not overheating. After this has happenned I have ran HL2 with no probs and 3Dmark05 with no probs. So I guess the OC screwed some of the files for the game. Since then, I uninstalled ATI tool to see if that would help, but no go. What do you guys think? HELP!

And if you play WoW, I play on Thunderhorn and my name is Sufferings.
__________________

__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 03:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

you could re-install windows, may seem a bit drastic but it could fix your problem and speed up your computer as well. Other than that, a driver update might be in order, or look for driver updates as well.

Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 03:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

I already tried reinstalling and updating the drivers. I may try reinstalling XP, but the software isnt with me. And I keep my PC pretty clean, it is pretty fast.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 03:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

how about reinstalling WoW and see if maybe on a weird fluke it solves the problems. Other than that, it's kind of odd that it doesn't work on that and completely screws up windows and 3dmark and HL2 work just fine...so that's kinda why I suggest trying to install WoW
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 04:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

Exactly what i thought,...thanks Nubius.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Why would you reinstall windows?...
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 10:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

WoW = World of Warcraft, not World of Windows lol
Demalii is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 11:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

world of windows, lol, is there a fan club for windows, i certianly hope not.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 12:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

Just an update, I flashed the BIOS on a chance that the screw up had changed anything there, and I havent had the problem yet. I could of been just real luckylast night, but it looks good. Hopefully it is fixed, because the reinstall of WoW takes about 45 mins and then two patched have to be downloaded and installed. Thanks for the replies guys, I will let you know if I can't figure it out.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 03:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
Why would you reinstall windows?...
Well every so often its good to re-install windows. Your computer gets junked up, and slows down, the hdd gets fragmented, and it starts behaving weirdly, thats the symptoms of a damaged os, and the cure is backup and format. Many people on this forum do take good care of thier os's by defragging, chkdsk, virus protection which is good, but still if you cant fix a problem sometimes a re-install will fix it.

Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.