I needa check my power usage! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2007, 01:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default I needa check my power usage!

hey, whats a program i can use to check how many watts i'm usin n such
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 01:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: I needa check my power usage!

You won't see any program displaying wattage only votages for each item. To see the actual output from a supply you place a watt meter inline with a load placed on the supply itself. For a good system information tool that gives a breakdown on voltages, hardwares, and even softwares installed the SIW(System Information for Windows) tool is one freeware found at SIW on PC World

For monitoring cpu, board, hard drive temp along with fan voltages SpeedFan has a good rep. That freeware is available at Download SpeedFan - Access temperature sensor in your computer The name seen in the second paragraph is the actuall download link there.
__________________

__________________
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 08:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: I needa check my power usage!

Heres how much watts you would need : http://www.journeysystems.com/power_...ator_popup.php
Had a better one Nukem gave me , but i can't find it >.<
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 09:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: I needa check my power usage!

I think you need to physically use a electrical meter and the the power supply when it is underload.

Where to take the reading from; I have no idea
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: I needa check my power usage!

A wattmeter is another tool used in electronics testing. You would find a wattmeter generally sold with other types of multimeters like those seen at Wireless Products Distributed by TESSCO Technologies
__________________
eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Echo Star 600W 20+4 Pin ATX Power Supply commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-04-2007 06:21 PM
Power usage of "sleep mode" og5 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-02-2007 03:35 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 08:12 AM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 04:27 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 12:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.