I need some help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2007, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default I need some help

So Ive messed around with ocing in the future but just messed up most of the time and had to restart my bios etc... So I was wondering when Im trying to overclock my cpu and it says overclock frequency and it starts at 100 and the max is 600 idk what to start at. Should I try it at 110 or go to the 266 where my base bus is at. Im Just confused right now. can some clear things up for me.
__________________

Phase-Six is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 09:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: I need some help

What CPU are you using my base stat was 266 I have an E6300.
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: I need some help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
What CPU are you using my base stat was 266 I have an E6300.
Yes thats the exact one im using.
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: I need some help

first off. what motherboard do you have, what CPU, and what RAM?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: I need some help

e6300 @1.8ghz (want to overclock)
2gb G-Skill ram
intel Motherboard ds3 by gigabyte it has M.I.T. Settings so I can overclock and thats what I need help on. What to change. I was using a program to do it and then I read that it was a big mistake so I was like okay grow up and use the bios. I just wanna get it up to around 2. something so I can run Unreal Tournament 3 smoothly.
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: I need some help

Okay, I have no idea what the stock settings are.

So it would be cool if you could give me this info

current cpu fsb

cpu multiplier rating

stock cpu voltage
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: I need some help

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
Okay, I have no idea what the stock settings are.

So it would be cool if you could give me this info

current cpu fsb

cpu multiplier rating

stock cpu voltage

Fsb: 266
Mult.: X7
Volt.: 1.31
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: I need some help

Boost the FSB in bios as high as you can without changing the voltage to the cpu. When the computer won't post you have gone to high and need to back track some. Then you can play with your voltage a bit. I would not recommend messing with your RAM voltages unless you are confident that they can handle it without burning out. Just take your time and play around some so that you get a little more comfortable with the processor and your systems boundries.
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default Re: I need some help

I was afraid it would come down to it *Grabs Screwdriver*. But where it says Frequency it shows it at 100 but I was wondering, Do I bump it to 110 and do it slowly or do I start it at my fsb and start it at 266? Thats where ive kinda been confused.
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 12:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: I need some help

Why would it be at 100? Start at 266 and work up. Acutally, what you could probably do, is set the multiplier to 9, leave the FSB, and set the cpu voltage to 1.35. That would give you 2.4GHz, which is equal to a stock E6600.

You might want to go up slower though, seeing as how its your first time OCing. 2GHz will be easy to get to though, and most likely will not need a voltage change. If you want 2GHz, set the FSB to 290.

Remember to stress test after you adjust the settings though. And disable all the powersaving features, such as C1E and EIST.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.