I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2010, 11:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board.

No... I'm runing Freezer Pro 7
__________________

__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 12:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board.

Wow.... You need to get better airflow, or lower the Vcore.... Though you do have a lowish vcore.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 12:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board.

Man my machine sounds like a meatgrinder with all the fans right now... I don't see how I can get more airflow...

I just dropped the VCore down to 1.25v. Ran intel burn test, passed but core #1 still gets to 73c while others get to 69c max.

I really don't see how this is way too hot.
__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 01:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board.

Well according to intel: Intelģ Core

Q8200 specs:

Vcore Max = 1.3625
Tcase Max (CPU temperature) = 71c

Anything over 70C is getting risky... and deemed hot.. But keep dropping your Vcore till it isn't stable... 65C is alot better if you can drop it there.


Your case isn't really that great... as i said, my case has 3 120mm and 1 200mm... thats airflow!
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 04:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board.

My core temps are 69c max on #1, #2-#4 stay at 65c max.

My cpu temp (not core) is 46c under load. What does this mean?
__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 04:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board.

What shows as cpu temp... Program I mean.

You can live with thoses temps i guess. I think your case is the culprit.

As you have 1 low core, it seems your TIM might not be right. Maybe try redoing the heatsink.

You could try removing the case door just to see if it lowers things.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 04:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 60
Default Re: I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board.

Oh, well I really hate the little pins Freezer Pro 7 has... kind of feel like they dont put enough pressure. I wish it was a screw on instead of the dam pins that come with stock intel coolers.
__________________
My Current Comp:

CPU Type: Intel Quad Q8200
Motherboard: P5Q Pro
System Memory: 4GB DDR2
GFX Card: Gigabyte GTX 480 Femi
Power Supply: TruePower Antec 750W
Case: Antec Sonata III 500W Black ATX w/ 2 120mm fans - 1 by HD's 1 on the back.
EliteScouter is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 06:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board.

Yup I hate them too, HOWEVER, thees always a great trick floating about the web... Like some are able to half to 3/4r lock the pins then they snap in.

But my tuniq is a dream with bolts .
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 07:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board.

Arctic Silver 5 is a low grade paste in todays modern world. Get some Tuniq TX-2 instead, you only want to use a little, no more than what would equal a single grain of dried rice. To much paste is bad, to little isn't good but it's better than to much. You need to reduce your temps to the low 60's, 65 should be the max on any one core. If some better paste doesn't help then you'll probably need to reduce your overclock until your temps drop to an acceptable level.

Newegg.com - Tuniq TX-2 Cooling Thermal Compound
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 08:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I need help overclocking a Q8200 w/ Asus P5Q Pro board.

Slay.. how long does unopened TIM last?

I need to redo my tuniq, and just found I have a brand new tube of mx-2... bought to use on my 8800, bugt didnt need it.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS M4A89GTD board -=CES=- Antec-User New Technology and Products 4 02-15-2010 07:18 PM
Asus 780 board pictured Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 0 06-05-2007 01:37 AM
recommend an asus board? Nevermore New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-13-2007 06:09 AM
Which Asus Board ? Please Help!! billru44 System Upgrades 12 12-29-2005 02:11 AM
Asus A7v-vm HP board Ares Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-21-2005 05:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.