I need help extremely badly. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2005, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to paintballphreak
Default I need help extremely badly.

My new case came from FedEx yesterday (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...e=STRK:MEWN:IT) , and I'm in need of desperate help. My computer is not turning on while in the new case. It came with a Powmax 450W PSU. I didn't get any new components except 2 new case fans, which I connected with the molex connectors. In all I connected 2 CD drives, my FDD, my HDD, 2 front case fans connected by the molex connectors, one side fan connected by molex. When I hit the power switch everything turned on for no longer than a second then shut off. It won't turn on now. I thought, the power supply is probably a piece of garbage, and tried my old 300W PSU. With this, I see my heatsink fan budge a little bit every time I press the power switch, then the light on the PSU indicating a power source goes off. I don't know how to get my system working in this new case, and I don't know what's wrong. Can someone help?
__________________

paintballphreak is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Do you have all of the plugs plugged in? INCLUDING the little 4 pin power one that connects to the mobo? That is what usually happens when you do not have the 4 pin plug in. Either that, or your PSU is too small.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to paintballphreak
Default

Yes, I had it plugged in. This happened on the power supply that came with it, and my own.
paintballphreak is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

So you are CERTAIN that ALL of the power connectors are properly in place? What kind of board and CPU do you have? Check to make sure the power switch on the back of the PSU is in it correct respective position (110V or 220V)
Him is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

If you have front USB ports on the case and they are plugged in, you may have to reverse them. Mine does the exact thing when I put them in what looks like the right way. Try unplugging them altogether first though.
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Never encountered that. Whenever I do that, I just get errors when I load up Windows. I dont see why that would stop your computer from turning on.
Him is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 01:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default

because it has to do w/ power and can short, i get the same thing sometimes and one time it started smoking on my moms computer (whoops lol). Its either that or you have something else shorting it out.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-07-2005, 03:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Hmm, this's a problem with buying online.. never quite sure..

Try seeing if you can borrow a PSU from a comp shop, test it in your comp, just plug it into the mobo, no need to do the rest. If the system starts up fine and if you have the internal pc speaker and it beeps? your psu was shot. Thank god i have a bud who works at a comp shop, so I just need to ask him stuff. Heck, I've gotten a free Thermaltake volcano12 HSF cause some n00b tried to force it in with pliers and bent the vents, I just unbent, and bam, free $70 (well, if it were new and undamaged) HSF, not bad eh?

But now? I would've rather gotten a gigabyte 3d rocket cooler.. my comp would be soo much better...
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 05:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to paintballphreak
Default

Would having the front panel connectors in the wrong pins have anything to do with it? Are all front panel pin layouts the same? Because I just looked at my friends mobo pin layout in his manual and went off of that. I don't know the pin layout of mine. I have an ASUS K8N8X-LA.
paintballphreak is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 08:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

The pin layout varies from manufacturer to model. Go to Asus' website and find the manual for your board if you lost your real one. The .pdf usually has the pin layout in there somewhere.
__________________

__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.